News:

Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

A 100.000 product webstore

Started by TheoKondak, October 04, 2017, 11:29:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheoKondak

Hello, Dear Community,

I am new to Joomla and Virtue Mart, and I have some questions, that might have been answered before, but please show some empathy here!

So I am into a project that I have to add some thousands of products for a company. The products are separated into 10-15 categories, and the main distinction is the size 1x1, 1x2, 1x3... 1x100 all the way up to 100x100. I am not sure why my supervisors chose this way to proceed, but I know that there is some third party custom HTML5 software behind. So what has to be done is just me create all these products with images, Product Name, Price + some custom String Field.

I am looking for a way to batch create these products. Is there any easy way to do that? I've found https://csvimproved.com/support/import/1120-product-import-with-custom-fields this plugin that seems to be doing exactly what I need. Is this the case?

Thanks

jenkinhill

I have always recommended CSVI to manage large stores.  Sounds like you are just starting on a steepish learning curve.
Kelvyn
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Retired from forum life November 2023

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

TheoKondak

Thanks for the reply. I will talk with my supervisor and suggest him CSVI to begin with. Hope that it will solve our problem.

Studio 42

Not a good idea, only do it if you need to have stock per each products.
You should use variants or a plugin to restrict product to main one you dont need 100000 products if all are derived from 100.

Note that my tool Vm Be pro can import too and batch process many fields if needed.

You must know that using 100 product with variant is certainly faster and easier to manage that 100000 so you can use a 10 X slower server for same task.

TheoKondak