Author Topic: String values are not translated on backend  (Read 296 times)

erhabe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
String values are not translated on backend
« on: September 05, 2017, 00:58:05 am »
Hello

I ve searched here about this and found nothing concludent.So....i setuped a few customfields list with some options and created string override for every language.On frontend they are translated but on backend they are not.Only the customfields titles are but no the values.Can anyone give me a clue about how to handle this issue?

Thank you

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1022
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.0.19.9
Re: String values are not translated on backend
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2017, 06:47:03 am »
Probably a Joomla issue.

Have You translated the strings for the backend to in the language manager ?

regards

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.6.5
Virtuemart 3.0.19.9
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

erhabe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: String values are not translated on backend
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2017, 20:46:15 pm »
No....i edited the override file.But i also tried with joomla manager to translate.Also are translated only the string titles not the values.

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1022
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.0.19.9
Re: String values are not translated on backend
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2017, 21:51:09 pm »
If you have edited the correct file then the values are not being handled with the correct code. Check the code for the view and see if the translation function is called. You can also override the views in backend and add this call if you like.

Maybe you should consider updating.

Regards

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.6.5
Virtuemart 3.0.19.9
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

erhabe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: String values are not translated on backend
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2017, 22:52:26 pm »
I added the translation for the strings in /administrator/language/overrides/en-GB.override.ini and the strings titles are translated in backend on customfields.Only the strings values are not translated.I am editing the wrong file and should put the translation elswhere?

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1022
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.0.19.9
Re: String values are not translated on backend
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2017, 06:32:42 am »
Joomla / Vm version ?

Regards

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.6.5
Virtuemart 3.0.19.9
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

erhabe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: String values are not translated on backend
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2017, 11:17:43 am »
Latest
VirtueMart 3.2.4
Joomla Platform 13.1.0 Stable [ Curiosity ]

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3167
  • using Piwik instead of Google Analytics
Re: String values are not translated on backend
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2017, 16:56:58 pm »
If I understand your problem correctly, this old tutorial might help: https://docs.virtuemart.net/tutorials/multilingual-store/105-using-language-keys-in-form-fields.html
I wrote that long time ago for VM2, but the procedure is still valid.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

erhabe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: String values are not translated on backend
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2017, 17:17:28 pm »
Sorry its no helping.Thats what i did.

I have for example this field as a list

Field title - COM_VIRTUEMART_FIELDTITLE
And options  COM_VIRTUEMART_FIELDTITLE1;COM_VIRTUEMART_FIELDTITLE2.

That i overrided in administrator/language/overrides/en-GB.override.ini
COM_VIRTUEMART_FIELDTITLE="English translation"
COM_VIRTUEMART_FIELDTITLE1="English translation"
COM_VIRTUEMART_FIELDTITLE2="English translation"

COM_VIRTUEMART_FIELDTITLE  is translated
COM_VIRTUEMART_FIELDTITLE1 and COM_VIRTUEMART_FIELDTITLE2 are not translated.

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3167
  • using Piwik instead of Google Analytics
Re: String values are not translated on backend
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2017, 19:39:19 pm »
Then your case is similar to this, isn't it? https://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=137356.0
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

erhabe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: String values are not translated on backend
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2017, 02:15:33 am »
Yes this was a real solution.I recomand it to all who want to view customfields values translated on the backend.
Thank you for support i didnt find this post on the search sorry.