Author Topic: Virtuemart 3.0.18 multilanguage problem  (Read 250 times)

smrekovit

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • A beginner
Virtuemart 3.0.18 multilanguage problem
« on: September 03, 2017, 06:20:11 am »
Hi. I am creating multilanguage joomla site and is almost finished, but I have a problem with Virtuemart. Multilanguage joomla works fine and is set right (checked also with multilingual status module) but Virtuemart seems immune to language change. I have translated some categories and products to try it but doesnt matter which language is selected in frontend the categories and products are always shown in Slovenian (default language). Strange thing is that even if I change default language to other than Slovenian, categories are still shown in Slovenian. Any clues?
Link: http://69.89.31.176/~smrekovi/smrekovit-2017(1)/index.php/en/products
http://prntscr.com/ggfcfv (marked part in this screenshot should deffinitely be translated since it is translated in virtuemart backend)

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3167
  • using Piwik instead of Google Analytics
Re: Virtuemart 3.0.18 multilanguage problem
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2017, 16:28:48 pm »
Might be related to the editor you are using in Joomla - probably TinyMCE. Try to use the JCE Editor and save your translations with that editor.
Also you should update to the latest Joomla 3.7.5 and VirtueMart 3.2.4 versions.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

GSC

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • A beginner
Re: Virtuemart 3.0.18 multilanguage problem
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2017, 21:04:40 pm »
Hi JJK,

I am facing the same issue, you found a solution?


smrekovit

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • A beginner
Re: Virtuemart 3.0.18 multilanguage problem
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2017, 15:11:02 pm »
Might be related to the editor you are using in Joomla - probably TinyMCE. Try to use the JCE Editor and save your translations with that editor.
Also you should update to the latest Joomla 3.7.5 and VirtueMart 3.2.4 versions.
Hi the editor is not a problem since the products are already translated (https://i.imgur.com/z6TkHrj.png) but the problem is that there is always the default language shown not mather which language is chosen in the language switch (https://i.imgur.com/fedIbHJ.png). All multilingual joomla stuff is set right. Actualy I had JCE editor once but in that case I couldnt even save the description.
The thing is that it seems that virtuemart doesnt gives a shit on language filter plugin, because also "add to car" button and everything else related to virtuemart is not translated.

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3167
  • using Piwik instead of Google Analytics
Re: Virtuemart 3.0.18 multilanguage problem
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2017, 21:07:01 pm »
Actualy I had JCE editor once but in that case I couldnt even save the description.[/quote]
There was one version long time ago which didn't work. But in recent years it does. However, at present TinyMCE also works.
 
Quote
The thing is that it seems that virtuemart doesnt gives a shit on language filter plugin, because also "add to car" button and everything else related to virtuemart is not translated.
Since it works for thousands of other multilingual shops, it is either a mistake in your configuration or a conflict with another extension.
A frequent mistake is that users enter their own language into VM's English language category and product database tables. Please check (with phpmyadmin) if you have Slovenian language product descriptions in English language tables. If that is correct, enable 'Debug Language' in Joomla and check, if the correct language files are loaded and if there are any parsing errors.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

smrekovit

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • A beginner
Re: Virtuemart 3.0.18 multilanguage problem
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2017, 14:45:48 pm »
Hi. Probably you are right. Do you thing that purchasing bronze support and contacting development team would solve the issue? https://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=124355.0

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3167
  • using Piwik instead of Google Analytics
Re: Virtuemart 3.0.18 multilanguage problem
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2017, 22:42:53 pm »
Hi. Probably you are right.
If you mean that you actually have Slovenian in VM's English language tables, it's pretty easy to solve that yourself. See for example here: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=137819.msg483410#msg483410.
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations