Author Topic: Product category problem  (Read 669 times)

bpos

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Mid level user
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.3
Product category problem
« on: June 15, 2017, 21:23:12 pm »
I have latest version of 3.7.2 and 3.2.3 VM.  I have been testing around to make sure all functions work. 

However I did add a new product and the "product categories" tab will not update. Once product is created and saved then the product category goes back to blank.

Oddly enough if you use the "save and close" rather than "save" tab it will keep the product category settings. I also notice that the ID numbers are acting strange. Once I save the product it does not show up in the list of products unless I do an ID order shuffle. Then it will show at the top of the page again?

Hard to tell if this is a database issue?

Please advise

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 26357
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2017, 22:53:39 pm »
What PHP version are you using?

Latest VM3.2.3 is VM3.2.3.9579  released 3 days ago - http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/files   Is that the one you are using?
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Keswick, Lake District

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM3.2.4 on Joomla 3.8.1 PHP 7.0.23

Testing VM3.2.5 on J!3.8.1

bpos

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Mid level user
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.3
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2017, 23:28:33 pm »
Using PHP version 5.6.25.  My webhost does not use 7.0 yet.  I just tested the theory of using php version 7 (on my local server) instead of 5.6.25 and it made no difference product category saving. Still does not save the product category.

I was not aware of the latest update 3.2.3.9579 ? Does this new update address the product issues?


bpos

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Mid level user
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.3
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2017, 00:27:11 am »
Ok I just upgraded to 3.2.3.9579 and using php version 7.0

Made no difference. Really strange. Seems like its the "save" button causing all the grief. If you delete a existing category listed in the "Product category" box and hit "save" it will not delete. If you change categories and hit "save" it will not change. But if you hit "save and exit" it will change and show the change in the product listing. Now if you happen to go back to that product and look at the change it will show that it did not change categories. Its like the whole thing does not want to update. I have a few cloned products that have categories already saved and those wont change. Adding a new product has even more issues as they don't want to hold category changes on some custom fields.

Most all other information and images saves fine. I have cleared cache.

Any thoughts?

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1097
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.5
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2017, 01:58:52 am »
Hello

What web browser Do You use ? Could be an JS issue. Old internet explorer can really mess upp adding categories. Hitting F5 after adding ONE category seems to work.

regards

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.1
Virtuemart 3.2.5
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

bpos

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Mid level user
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.3
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2017, 02:39:58 am »
That does appear to help. Not sure why the the ID number list jumps around after adding information to a product but overall I think that may have solved the input issue.

Thank you

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1097
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.5
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2017, 06:56:50 am »
Hello

Glad that the workaround is working for You. Crazy isn´t it ? What IE version Do You use? If I use IE 11 I get this irratic behaviour, but using Firefox it works as expected :)

Have a very nice day

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.1
Virtuemart 3.2.5
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

bpos

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Mid level user
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.3
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2017, 06:44:49 am »
I use IE 11. I tried google chrome and it seems to be better.

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1097
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.5
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2017, 17:02:16 pm »
Yes IE11 does not like this code. With firefox it works. Haven't tried Chrome.
Regards Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.1
Virtuemart 3.2.5
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

mcw1225

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2017, 11:56:47 am »
Im experiencing the exact same problem, but in Chrome and Firefox too!

Using:
Joomla! 3.7.2 Stable
PHP: 5.6.25
VM: 3.2.2

Any ideas?

Many thanks.

m.davide82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2017, 12:41:33 pm »
I still have this problem on a website, how did you solved it?

Thanks,
Davide

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1097
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.5
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2017, 12:57:44 pm »
Please start here:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=79799.0

regards

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.1
Virtuemart 3.2.5
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

m.davide82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2017, 14:07:03 pm »
VM 3.2.4
J. 3.7.5
Php 7.0.22
Apache
cgi-fcgi


Thanks,
Davide

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1097
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.5
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2017, 15:14:37 pm »
Hello

What template do you use in backend? Isis or something else ?

regards

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.8.1
Virtuemart 3.2.5
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

m.davide82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: Product category problem
« Reply #14 on: September 06, 2017, 16:26:32 pm »
I'm using isis, the default one.