Author Topic: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1  (Read 1212 times)

cvrak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • A beginner
Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« on: April 14, 2017, 13:02:27 pm »
Hi,

I've upgraded from VM 3.0.18 --> 3.2.1 and I face a serious problem:
After installation i got a lot of notices and messages, pls see attached .txt file
Checking, I've found that many new categories were created, probably during installation, without any products.
When I try to edit/create new product, it's not possible to choose a category, because VM tries to load categories. See attached pic.

The site is multilingual, multilingual (Greek & English) status is ok. So far, i haven't publish Language Switcher, because English contant isn't ready yet.
I use VM 3.2.1  Joomla 3.6.5 PHP 5.5.38       DB  5.5.5-10.1.21-MariaDB

How this can be fixed?

Thanks
Chris

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 7621
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6.22 & 3.2.2
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2017, 18:35:56 pm »
messages IMHO all normal install info...
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

cvrak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • A beginner
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2017, 08:37:53 am »
messages IMHO all normal install info...

Maybe these messages are normal, but the serious problem is still there. It's not possible to use VM with this error.
Any suggestions??

cvrak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • A beginner
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2017, 09:50:26 am »
Any help with this problem??

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2359
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3.0.x.y
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2017, 12:03:35 pm »
Have you try F12 key to clear and refresh your javascripts ?
This solve the issue in some server with file cache active

cvrak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • A beginner
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2017, 12:41:05 pm »
Have you try F12 key to clear and refresh your javascripts ?
This solve the issue in some server with file cache active

with F12 opens Firebug. Nothing changes, the problem remains.
The strange thing is the new fake products categories which are created after upgrade. See the attached pic, all these categories are created and not published.

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2359
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3.0.x.y
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2017, 14:28:55 pm »
Try to clear Joomla cache.
I had already trouble on upgrading because Virtuemart Categories are cached by Joomla, if the Joomla cache is activated or not.

cvrak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • A beginner
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2017, 14:40:00 pm »
Try to clear Joomla cache.
I had already trouble on upgrading because Virtuemart Categories are cached by Joomla, if the Joomla cache is activated or not.

Joomla cache is off. I've cleared all cache many times.
The problem remains.

kmedri

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2017, 14:56:58 pm »
Try ctrl shift del to clear your browser cache

Sent from my VIE-L09 using Tapatalk


cvrak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • A beginner
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2017, 15:11:55 pm »
Try ctrl shift del to clear your browser cache

Sent from my VIE-L09 using Tapatalk

Tried many times. I used Chrome, for the first time for this site. The problem remains.
I don't think its a matter of history, because of the extra fake categories.
Any ideas??

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2359
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3.0.x.y
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2017, 15:50:02 pm »
Have you removed "fake" categories ?

cvrak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • A beginner
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2017, 16:05:44 pm »
Have you removed "fake" categories ?

I did it twice (previous attempts to upgrade), the problem remained. Now (third attempt) I didn't. Do you think I should remove them?
I removed once again fake categories. The problem remains.

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2359
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3.0.x.y
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2017, 21:32:42 pm »
Open your javascript console in your browser (f12 on PC) and check if you get en error.

cvrak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • A beginner
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2017, 09:41:25 am »
Open your javascript console in your browser (f12 on PC) and check if you get en error.

Hi,
When I open the console I get a lot of errors, see attached pics.
Pls advice
Thanks


Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2359
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3.0.x.y
Re: Problem after upgrading to VM 3.2.1
« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2017, 17:44:40 pm »
Do you have english categories?
Your back-end is in english and it's as if your category tree is empty and give you TypeError: json is null.
The other errors are CSS tips(in blue), no real bugs. Best is to disable CSS errors reporting.