Author Topic: Thumbnails Path Broken - (Default URL)  (Read 835 times)

geoffr

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Thumbnails Path Broken - (Default URL)
« on: March 17, 2017, 03:09:48 am »
After a recent VM version update, all thumbnail paths have (Default URL) inserted into the path at the start, breaking all thumbnail links.  See the attached screen shot. As a result, the thumbnail image links are all broken on the frontend.

The problem can be fixed by resaving the file after removing that string, but with 700 products, it's a big problem. 

Is there a patch to fix this introduced bug?

OR, please advise where this string is stored and I will remove globally.

ASAP, thanks
Geoff

its4yougr

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • Κατασκευή ιστοσελίδων Θεσσαλονίκη - Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: VM3
Re: Thumbnails Path Broken - (Default URL)
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2017, 11:10:52 am »
Hi
I searched under SITE_ROOT/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/language/en-GB/en-GB.com_virtuemart_media.ini and its the first entry of the file
COM_VIRTUEMART_DEFAULT_URL="(Default URL) %1$s"
Please change to
COM_VIRTUEMART_DEFAULT_URL="%1$s" and save the file

When you edit the product again in the backend you get the thumb url w/o the (Default URL) string in front.

Unfotunatelly you need to edit all products and save them again.

BR
George
Κατασκευή Ιστοσελίδων Θεσσαλονίκη - http://www.its4you.gr/
WebDesign Internet Marketing - http://www.webdesign-internetmarketing.com/

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9062
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Thumbnails Path Broken - (Default URL)
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2017, 13:49:22 pm »

After a recent VM version update, all thumbnail paths have (Default URL) inserted into the path at the start, breaking all thumbnail links.  See the attached screen shot. As a result, the thumbnail image links are all broken on the frontend.
Yeh, the attached screenshot shows a thumbnail on the right which works. So the attached screenshot shows anything correct. Your thumbs do not work in the FE, because your layout overrides are much tooo old and shitty written. Please read here http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=132128.msg456671#msg456671

I am quite sure, the reason is that your layout use something like $product->images[0]->file_url_thumb instead of $product->images[0]->FileUrlThumb();


Hi
I searched under SITE_ROOT/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/language/en-GB/en-GB.com_virtuemart_media.ini and its the first entry of the file
COM_VIRTUEMART_DEFAULT_URL="(Default URL) %1$s"
Please change to
COM_VIRTUEMART_DEFAULT_URL="%1$s" and save the file
What should that bring? It just shows not anylonger the information, that you use a default and that you have not override it and therefore anything works automatic. Your solution is absolutly horrible and actually breaking the GUI in some sense.


Unfotunatelly you need to edit all products and save them again.
Ah super and set anywhere an overrides, make it most complex as possible.

Completly nonsense its4gr. Really. COM_VIRTUEMART_DEFAULT_URL="(Default URL) %1$s" Shows that your db has NO ENTRY for the THUMB PATH, which IS THE CORRECT WAY !

Only when you want to override the default thump path, then you write something in here, but I strongly recommend to stay aways from this. This options is more for Pros, who really understand what they do and why our system is the way it is.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

its4yougr

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • Κατασκευή ιστοσελίδων Θεσσαλονίκη - Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: VM3
Re: Thumbnails Path Broken - (Default URL)
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2017, 19:13:43 pm »
What I saw was that all apps that were using the file_url_thumb to get the thumbnail image path where not showing any image.
Having the (Default URL) string in front of the image thumbnail path was the reason that the field file_url_thumb in the virtuemart_medias table didn't have any values.
Now if this was a terrible solution or not I don't know. After that fix some vmscroller that I had on a site started displaying the thumbs.

Thanks
Κατασκευή Ιστοσελίδων Θεσσαλονίκη - http://www.its4you.gr/
WebDesign Internet Marketing - http://www.webdesign-internetmarketing.com/

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9062
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Thumbnails Path Broken - (Default URL)
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2017, 08:45:02 am »
I forgot to add the link http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=132128.0

But it is also quite easy to find per google. There is a news about that, and some forum topics.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

its4yougr

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • Κατασκευή ιστοσελίδων Θεσσαλονίκη - Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: VM3
Re: Thumbnails Path Broken - (Default URL)
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2017, 20:30:43 pm »
I thank you Milbo very much for the link to the post...
BR
George
Κατασκευή Ιστοσελίδων Θεσσαλονίκη - http://www.its4you.gr/
WebDesign Internet Marketing - http://www.webdesign-internetmarketing.com/

raunhar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 223
Re: Thumbnails Path Broken - (Default URL)
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2017, 11:53:19 am »
thanks

garikello

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • A beginner
  • Skype Name: garikello123
Re: Thumbnails Path Broken - (Default URL)
« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2017, 18:26:02 pm »
Hi,

I didn't get the way to solve this.

I have now phrase "Deafault URL" in my database links for thumbs of newst products after upgrading VM to latest version 3.2.1.
Thumbs are working fine on the page, but the problem is with exporting the list of products together with link of thumb to other websites. CSVI exports the link as it is in database, but it is broken with the phrase there.

I don't get, how the phrase got there after upgrading VM to latest version 3.2.1

I use Dynamic Thumbnail Resizing all the time. I don't see, how that can influence the links.

Any idea how to rid of them? I need to clean links and get rid of them in the future.