Author Topic: Enshort product url  (Read 154 times)

ereallstaff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 123
  • InnovaIlweb CEO
Enshort product url
« on: February 14, 2017, 15:55:49 pm »
Hello we are on virtuemart 2 and joomla 2.5 ( still ? yes . Too many problems to think about a migration soon )

I want to know if there is any standard setting to enshort the url of product like this:

www.modacalcio.it/_lang_/_product_slug.html

i have many things ( like "virtuemart" , "shop" , various category name )  in the middle I really don't need

thank you
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ì
Try out our new joomla background rotator ( for joomla 1.x or 2.x), for only 14,99 eur @ innovailweb.it

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3026
  • using Piwik instead of Google Analytics
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 19:16:05 pm »
In latest VM 3.0.19.x versions you would have an option in VM configuration to shorten the urls by omitting the categories. But of course that would require an update.  ;)
Please let the VirtueMart developers know which PHP version you are using for VirtueMart here:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=133216.0

ereallstaff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 123
  • InnovaIlweb CEO
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 09:46:11 am »
Thanks . is there any simple api access or webservice for VM 3 in Joomla 3?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ì
Try out our new joomla background rotator ( for joomla 1.x or 2.x), for only 14,99 eur @ innovailweb.it

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3026
  • using Piwik instead of Google Analytics
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2017, 11:29:51 am »
Thanks . is there any simple api access or webservice for VM 3 in Joomla 3?
Are you looking for something like these?
http://www.virtuemart-datamanager.com/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&page=shop.browse&category_id=21&Itemid=29&vmcchk=1&Itemid=29
http://shop.ekerner.com/index.php/component/vm_api/
Don't know with which VM versions the above are compatible.
Please let the VirtueMart developers know which PHP version you are using for VirtueMart here:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=133216.0

ereallstaff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 123
  • InnovaIlweb CEO
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2017, 17:58:46 pm »
the first maybe yes, the second is only to get info ( I need to push )

Unfortunately the real problem, is that virtuemart has many limits , sometimes seems really not built for ecommerce, cache problem over all  . Then also problem with joomla, and you're on
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ì
Try out our new joomla background rotator ( for joomla 1.x or 2.x), for only 14,99 eur @ innovailweb.it

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3026
  • using Piwik instead of Google Analytics
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2017, 21:16:48 pm »
Unfortunately the real problem, is that virtuemart has many limits , sometimes seems really not built for ecommerce, cache problem over all  . Then also problem with joomla, and you're on

It is much more flexible and also scales better than most other shop systems if your shop grows. Your shop is not big and if you have problems, I would suggest to invest some time into an update to the latest versions of Joomla and VirtueMart. That would give you the opportunity to get rid of unnecessary stuff like for example K2 and mootools. Also there are templates with better performance and design.

One source of problems you might encounter probably is that you load two different versions of jquery from Google.
Please let the VirtueMart developers know which PHP version you are using for VirtueMart here:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=133216.0

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 25373
  • On vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2017, 00:12:24 am »
I agree with jjk. VirtueMart 3 is very different from VM2, which at times was a bag of nails. It is now very powerful,  flexible and bult for purpose. Yes it gets dragged down by the shortcomings of Joomla, but to hold back on updating because of current problems is the wrong thinking.  Last year I updated an old J2.5/VM2 site for a client who told me that he could not believe that VM3 was so capable without all the hacks and extensions that he thought were essential. Suck it and see.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Keswick, Lake District

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM3.0.18.8 on Joomla 3.6.5 PHP 7.0.12

Testing VM3.0.19.6 on J!3.6.5