Author Topic: Enshort product url  (Read 2071 times)

ereallstaff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • InnovaIlweb CEO
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #15 on: February 24, 2017, 16:49:36 pm »
For the cart :
Deactivating the cache can solve your issue because if you use page cache this cache all page including cart.

I use jotcache , excluding page=shop.cart,page=checkout.index,pop=1,view=cart    .    I have also sh404sef , maybe this can cause caching? ( I had same problem before installing sh404sef

Another solution is to change Joomla cache type. Try to switch from conservative to progressive.

Joomla cache set to off to use jot

Another problem can be that your server cache the cart page, if you use .htaccess with expiration time for html/txt or by extension .php or external cache system.

this could be , but why access the cart as a blank page? could have more sense, that after adding first product , the cart page is cached and you see always one product and not more than one.

and also why this affect just a part of customers?

These are big problems about virtuemart


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ì
Try out our new joomla background rotator ( for joomla 1.x or 2.x), for only 14,99 eur @ innovailweb.it

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2069
  • Joomla & Virtuemart addon developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3.0.x.y
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #16 on: February 24, 2017, 17:03:06 pm »
I think , it's not VIrtuemart related.
Problem is that cart need to be displayed by user and always refresh on each change. All other Joomla page can use cache without issue.
So if you use any type of cache and this cache the cart then you get problems. This can be browser cache, joomla cache or any other caching system.
Check that the expire time for cart is always set to an old date eg in your document :
Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate, max-age=0
But perhaps this should be done by Virtuemart to be sure it's not cached in the server ?

A PHP sample is
    header("Expires: Tue, 03 Jul 2001 06:00:00 GMT");
    header("Last-Modified: " . gmdate("D, d M Y H:i:s") . " GMT");
    header("Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate, max-age=0");
    header("Cache-Control: post-check=0, pre-check=0", false);
    header("Pragma: no-cache");
But need to be set Joomla way is better.
If some code developper read this post, i hink this should be in the VM core code, to be sure cart get not cached by browser.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 25528
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #17 on: February 24, 2017, 17:25:50 pm »
@ereallstaff

Hello we are on virtuemart 2 and joomla 2.5

Does this still apply?  J3.5/VM3.0.18+  does not need Jotcache or SH404
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Keswick, Lake District

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM3.2.0 on Joomla 3.6.5 PHP 7.0.12

Testing VM3.2.1 on J!3.6.5 and J!3.7B3

ereallstaff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • InnovaIlweb CEO
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #18 on: February 24, 2017, 18:27:37 pm »
@ereallstaff

Hello we are on virtuemart 2 and joomla 2.5

we wrote just 2-3 days ago, I am not so fast to pass already to other system .I either didn't find a good template for it

Does this still apply?  J3.5/VM3.0.18+  does not need Jotcache or SH404
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ì
Try out our new joomla background rotator ( for joomla 1.x or 2.x), for only 14,99 eur @ innovailweb.it

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 25528
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #19 on: February 24, 2017, 18:43:34 pm »
I am wondering if some of the advise above is more relevant to VM3 than to VM2.

I agree that there were some problems in the use of VM2.x but there has been so much progress since then. At least you have been thinking of upgrading. As for templates, these are very much a personal thing, and the usual template clubs go more for flash over function. My choice for VM sites are templates from https://www.olympianthemes.com  The developer is a member of the VM team so they are thoroughly tested and kept up to date.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Keswick, Lake District

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM3.2.0 on Joomla 3.6.5 PHP 7.0.12

Testing VM3.2.1 on J!3.6.5 and J!3.7B3

ereallstaff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • InnovaIlweb CEO
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #20 on: February 24, 2017, 19:00:24 pm »
I had seen horne 3 and effectively worths a trial.

problem I think that template should already think about 2 fixed places below for filters with custom filters and cart , and for this I will need to work a lot

Anyway thank you
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ì
Try out our new joomla background rotator ( for joomla 1.x or 2.x), for only 14,99 eur @ innovailweb.it

ereallstaff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • InnovaIlweb CEO
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #21 on: February 24, 2017, 19:23:28 pm »
once we are here: is there a way to bootstrap virtuemart 2 to write a fast script to load products using the same structure?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ì
Try out our new joomla background rotator ( for joomla 1.x or 2.x), for only 14,99 eur @ innovailweb.it

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8786
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #22 on: February 25, 2017, 08:38:23 am »
Try to switch from conservative to progressive.
That is just slow. It means cache per user. That means any first page load is slow and uncached.

Another problem can be that your server cache the cart page, if you use .htaccess with expiration time for html/txt or by extension .php or external cache system.
yeh, I think the problem is here.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8786
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #23 on: February 25, 2017, 08:41:28 am »
For the cart :
Deactivating the cache can solve your issue because if you use page cache this cache all page including cart.

I use jotcache , excluding page=shop.cart,page=checkout.index,pop=1,view=cart    .    I have also sh404sef , maybe this can cause caching? ( I had same problem before installing sh404sef
shop.cart is vm 1 !!! So you do NOT exclude the cart!


These are big problems about virtuemart
This is not a VM problem. You use jotacache.

Maybe your problem is SSL related. Use SSL for the whole shop, not just the sensitive areas.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

ereallstaff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • InnovaIlweb CEO
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #24 on: February 25, 2017, 11:08:01 am »
shop.cart is vm 1 !!! So you do NOT exclude the cart!

I reduced only to view=cart , let's try

Maybe your problem is SSL related. Use SSL for the whole shop, not just the sensitive areas.

I use it for entire site already
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ì
Try out our new joomla background rotator ( for joomla 1.x or 2.x), for only 14,99 eur @ innovailweb.it

ereallstaff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • InnovaIlweb CEO
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #25 on: February 25, 2017, 14:27:20 pm »
Multi variant creation has a bug : doesn't work if debug mode is on ( on development was my value )

This was due to print
Notice: Undefined variable: i in ....../administrator/components/com_virtuemart/models/customfields.php on line 605

if you want to work with json, friend, you need to silence all notice and error before printing or manage to print under the response array.

 took 1 hour to understand, but a newbie won't had set this properly at all

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ì
Try out our new joomla background rotator ( for joomla 1.x or 2.x), for only 14,99 eur @ innovailweb.it

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8786
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #26 on: February 26, 2017, 08:11:43 am »
Multi variant creation has a bug : doesn't work if debug mode is on ( on development was my value )
.....
if you want to work with json, friend, you need to silence all notice and error before printing or manage to print under the response array.

When you enable a debug, json is most likely to break, if there is a debug in the json. It is inevitable.
you need to silence all notice and error before printing
Yes, you have todo that. But not "we". Else you had no chance to debug it. There is an old rule saying. Better a red light in the cart telling that there is (will be) a problem, instead of just having a problem.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

ereallstaff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • InnovaIlweb CEO
Re: Enshort product url
« Reply #27 on: February 26, 2017, 10:06:27 am »
Yes but you can manage things Luke I say adding to response the errors and print elseway without breaking the code

This way you don t have red message like you say and newbies goes mad :(
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ì
Try out our new joomla background rotator ( for joomla 1.x or 2.x), for only 14,99 eur @ innovailweb.it