Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

Category and product creation

Started by Troels_E, February 06, 2017, 01:35:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Troels_E

Latest stable VM and J3.6.5
Two questions.

1. is it possible to create a menu item that links to a manufacturer and shows categories with products from this manufacturer instead of just mix of products?

Example.
Say I fex. sell car tires and have a category "racing tire" in this category I have four manufacturers subcategories with their products.
I also sell winter tires and again I have created subcategories for each manufacturer.

If I want to list all categories from a certain manufacturer as a category grid, can VM do this and how?

2. I have products that come in a lot of different colours and need stock control (which I have never used before).
I don't know whether to make a parent product category and then a new product in this category for each colour (up to 75 colours/products) or whether to do it with childproducts or so. Someone please advise.
I need people to see the colours as they pick the product (or preferably pick the product from the picture) and SEO is also a concern so whats the advice?

Thanks

Studio 42

Quote from: Troels_E on February 06, 2017, 01:35:08 AM
1. is it possible to create a menu item that links to a manufacturer and shows categories with products from this manufacturer instead of just mix of products?
I think that it need code changes in the category layout,to do it, but should be possible, because Virtuemart permit to filter category & manufacturer in the same view.
This link should work for filter category and manufacturer
jroute::('index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=category&virtuemart_category_id='.$virtuemart_category_id.'&virtuemart_manufactured_id='.$virtuemart_manufactured_id);
Of course it's the base code and you need to prefilter manufacturers to only display manufacturers having product results