Author Topic: [SOLVED] Problem with the sub categories  (Read 4157 times)

babu65

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Skype Name: web.maker.agency
[SOLVED] Problem with the sub categories
« on: October 21, 2016, 00:50:23 am »
hi, I've a problem with the subcategory of products.
If I make a sub category when in the front end I display it in the parent category or into it the articles  in the bottom of page I've the following message:
Quote
Notice: Undefined property: VirtuemartViewCategory::$search in /home/responsi/public_html/templates/elegantstore/html/com_virtuemart/category/default.php on line 356

I've seen in the file at line 356 ant there is

Code: [Select]
<?php
} elseif ($this->search !== NULL) {
echo vmText::('COM_VIRTUEMART_NO_RESULT') . ($this->keyword ' : (' $this->keyword ')' '');
}
But I can't understand where is the problem.

Somebody can help me?

Many thanks in advance.

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10422
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: Problem with the sub categories
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2016, 00:59:54 am »
try with the stock  default.php file first

u give no versions etc
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

babu65

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Skype Name: web.maker.agency
Re: Problem with the sub categories
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2016, 01:07:13 am »
  :-[ Sorry, I'm using Joomla 3.6.3 and VM 3.018
Sorry again, but I don't understand what have you in mind when say "try with the stock  default.php file first" :'(

babu65

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Skype Name: web.maker.agency
Re: Problem with the sub categories
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2016, 01:15:49 am »
The error disappear if i made a product into parent category

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28308
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Problem with the sub categories
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2016, 13:16:02 pm »
The error is coming from your template override:  /templates/elegantstore/html/com_virtuemart/category/default.php on line 356  not from default virtuemart. If you rename that file (on a temporary basis) then VM will use its own default.php template file instead. If the error goes away then it is a template issue and you should ask your Joomla eleganstore template provider for a fixed version.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 3.8.9.10473 on Joomla 3.9.28 PHP 7.4.14

Jumbo!

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 807
  • Full-stack Web Developer
    • www.virtueplanet.com
  • VirtueMart Version: Always latest
Re: Problem with the sub categories
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2016, 18:40:16 pm »
It is a problem if your template.

Open - templates/elegantstore/html/com_virtuemart/category/default.php

Now replace the following codes:

Code: [Select]
<?php
} elseif ($this->search !== NULL) {
echo vmText::('COM_VIRTUEMART_NO_RESULT') . ($this->keyword ' : (' $this->keyword ')' '');
}

by

Code: [Select]
<?php
} elseif (isset($this->search) && $this->search !== NULL) {
echo vmText::('COM_VIRTUEMART_NO_RESULT') . ($this->keyword ' : (' $this->keyword ')' '');
}

babu65

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Skype Name: web.maker.agency
Re: Problem with the sub categories
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2016, 05:01:01 am »
Thanks to all for the replies,
I've following the suggestion of Jumbo, so now it's working.
Unfortunately I've a strange problem but I dont think is related at the first.
In the italian vesrsion of the site all work well, in the english I've a problem when I log in as a registered user. Infact the sub menu voices of the main voice "Products" disappear and in the main page of VM if I select a category the browser is redirect at the home page instead in to the category.
I've checked the permissions of English user groups  of VM and they are the same of Italian user groupsThe

site is http://agriturismovip.it
User: pippo
PSW: pippo1234