Author Topic: Virtuemart Editor problem  (Read 2281 times)

Thanasis

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • netadmin.gr
Virtuemart Editor problem
« on: July 07, 2016, 09:47:24 am »
I have VirtueMart 3.0.16 and Joomla! 3.5.1.
When i update to  VirtueMart 3.0.16 i have problem with editor on custom fields, i had custom fields with editor and now the editor disappear. I use TinyMCE on Joomla configuration.

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9651
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: Virtuemart Editor problem
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2016, 15:26:39 pm »
I think u need to at least incl. a screenshot about what u mean
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

Thanasis

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • netadmin.gr
Re: Virtuemart Editor problem
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2016, 15:45:25 pm »
First of all thanks for your replay. ;)
I have attached two pictures, on Editor section before i update the Joomla and Virtuemart to latest versions i use TinyMSC, when i update Joomla and Virtuemart the editor is gone.
On Global Configuration of Joomla i have TinyMCE and the plugin is enabled.
Thanks.

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9651
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: Virtuemart Editor problem
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2016, 16:40:54 pm »
yes.. I don't get any editor on a "editor" custom field either...  :-\
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

baggiesmad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 308
Re: Virtuemart Editor problem
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2016, 13:18:58 pm »
yes.. I don't get any editor on a "editor" custom field either...  :-\

Yes I updated on Wednesday and get the same issue!

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4329
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: Virtuemart Editor problem
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2016, 18:36:35 pm »
I like the regression each time.
We had already this for some years.
Problem is tinyMce has changed
SO now it's :
Code: [Select]
tinymce.EditorManager.execCommand('mceAddEditor', true,"field-0-customfield_value");ANd not
Code: [Select]
// Creates a new editor instance
tinymce.execCommand("mceAddControl",true,"field-0-customfield_value")

But the problem is that it depend now on your editor release.
If you don't use tinymce, but an editor based on tinymce,this probably do not work, and you need to use old code.
I think this code should be a function in the plugin. So you have not to hardcode the javascript to call the editor.

If you want to test this :
go in your product having this customfield.
Check fro the ID
and open the javascript console (f12) and copy this :
Code: [Select]
// REPLACE XXX by the plugin ID
tinymce.EditorManager.execCommand('mceAddEditor', true,"field-XXX-customfield_value");

jjk

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3647
  • using Matomo instead of Google Analytics
Re: Virtuemart Editor problem
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2016, 11:48:54 am »
The JCE editor still works with Joomla 3.6.0 and VM 3.0.17.2
Non-English Shops: Are your language files up to date?
http://virtuemart.net/community/translations

ptrouw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 126
Re: Virtuemart Editor problem
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2016, 13:05:14 pm »
I am running 3.0.16 en J3.6.2 en JCE editor 2.5.20 and I have the same problem in VM. I doesn't want to completely open an existing product, I have to stop the script.
Also tried it with older releases of JCE 2.5.18 and 19, but the same problem.
I tried it with adding a new product, and strangely that works fine.
Is the problem within JCE or VM?

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9651
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: Virtuemart Editor problem
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2016, 15:45:06 pm »
as I understand it is them in combination.. 

but I use JCE on all my sites and have never seen this problem .. if u try another editor?
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

ptrouw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 126
Re: Virtuemart Editor problem
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2016, 16:08:22 pm »
I have tried tinyMCE same problem. Installed DropEditor that one works fine!
It is definite related to tinyMCE. I also tried latest version of tinymce.min.js, and also old version, but no luck!

Another installation with vm3.016, JCE 2.5.19 and J3.5.1 works fine, but this site isn't updated yet.
The fix by Studio 42 I can't reproduce!

Any other ideas?

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4329
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: Virtuemart Editor problem
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2016, 21:37:00 pm »
If the editor is not set try:
tinymce.EditorManager.execCommand('mceAddEditor', true,"field-XXX-customfield_value");
XXX is the customfield html ID.
This work in some editors based on tinyMCE depending used tinymce.min.js release.
Remember that you have some based on jquery, some not. So this is only a test, to check if this can solve the problem and it's not a final solution

ptrouw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 126
Re: Virtuemart Editor problem
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2016, 12:07:21 pm »
It is difficult to reproduce. Most products have no problem, they all have custom fields. Some products without customs field have this problem.