Author Topic: Thumbnails - (Default URL)  (Read 4293 times)

Shimon Hirschhorn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 141
Re: Thumbnails - (Default URL)
« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2016, 21:10:21 pm »
I have been trying different things to see if there is any system as to what is displayed or not.

I deleted OH-TR-1.jpg from product and the thumbnail from resized.
I copied an image that was being displayed for a different product and named it OH-TR-1.jpg

The thumbnail was created in resized.
VM does not display product image nor thumbnail.

This seems to "prove" that the image itself is not the problem

Shimon Hirschhorn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 141
Re: Thumbnails - (Default URL)
« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2016, 22:02:27 pm »
SOLVED  - sort of....

I found that in the jos_virtuemart_medias.published was = 0.

I set it to 1 and image appears.

So now I know the cause.  The question remains how does this happen and what has to be done so that it won't happen.

Is this user error ?  What did I screw up ?

To test this I deleted all products with this image.
I deleted the record for this image in the jos_virtuemart_medias table.
I deleted the thumbnail.

Then I ran an import from CSVI.
an appropriate record in the jos_virtuemart_medias was created but no images displayed.
I then edited this record and set "published" to 1.
Images display.


Shimon Hirschhorn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 141
Re: Thumbnails - (Default URL)
« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2016, 22:45:51 pm »
SOLVED !!!  Completely.

The problem stems from the file that I used to import the products.
The top of the excel file has current item.
The bottom of the file has some products that I have to deal with in the future, so as of now they are set to published - N.

Some of the products at the bottom (unpublished ) use the same images as the ones at the top.

When I import the products using CSVI, it first sets the product media to published for all the current products.  Then when it gets to the products on the bottom that are unpublished, it unpublishes  their media.

Thank you all for your help.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27466
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Thumbnails - (Default URL)
« Reply #18 on: May 25, 2016, 12:25:04 pm »
OK so we put it down to user error.....
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.4.3.10057 on Joomla 3.9.10 PHP 7.0.33
Testing VM 3.5.0.10097 on Joomla 3.9.10

Shimon Hirschhorn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 141
Re: Thumbnails - (Default URL)
« Reply #19 on: May 25, 2016, 18:16:49 pm »
No ego here.

I am always ready to accept the blame.
I just want it to work in the end.

So my error is using the same image for more that one item, and having the unpublished one below the published one in my import.


Now I just have to get my VM backend to operate again.   The product filtering is funky.  Setting the vendor dropdown to "please select" used to return products from all vendors.  Now it returns products from NO vendors (no products)

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9853
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Thumbnails - (Default URL)
« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2016, 11:16:52 am »
So my error is using the same image for more that one item

Now I just have to get my VM backend to operate again.   The product filtering is funky.  Setting the vendor dropdown to "please select" used to return products from all vendors.  Now it returns products from NO vendors (no products)
You must be superadmin or vendor manager
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

yannickperi

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Thumbnails - (Default URL)
« Reply #21 on: June 23, 2016, 18:17:40 pm »
Hi all,
In my case, the thumbnail was not showing at all in module scroller.
My personal solution was to delete the text (default URL) in the field image in each product (boring !).

This text is inserted in administrator language file : en-GB.com_virtuemart_media.ini
- line : COM_VIRTUEMART_DEFAULT_URL="(Default URL) %1$s"
- replaced by : COM_VIRTUEMART_DEFAULT_URL="%1$s"

After remplacing text, everything is fine.
Hope it will help.