Author Topic: State / Province / Region not working in VM 3.0.16  (Read 2526 times)

AdrianB86

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • A beginner
State / Province / Region not working in VM 3.0.16
« on: May 12, 2016, 10:10:27 am »
Hi,

The shopper field "State / Province / Region" doesn't work in VM 3.0.16, after you select a Country and click the dropdown for this field, it shows "Select".

I have added all values in the backend of VM but nothing.

Is there a fix for this?

Thanks!

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10298
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: State / Province / Region not working in VM 3.0.16
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2016, 11:33:53 am »
Has been told so many times here.. did u search????

JS error 99% of the time .. without live url no one can help u
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

AdrianB86

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • A beginner
Re: State / Province / Region not working in VM 3.0.16
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2016, 11:39:49 am »
Hi GJC,

So i actually figured this one out on my own.

No JS error at all. I had to manually input each State into the MYSQL database and now its working!

Seems so many people think its a problem when actually VM doesnt have most countries states in.

How can i change Subject titles to SOLVED?

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10298
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: State / Province / Region not working in VM 3.0.16 - solved
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2016, 12:23:09 pm »
???

there are some states added and a proper admin dialog to add any further ones you may require -- no DB work is required

Also even if the "States" is a required field.. if no states are filled the validation allows it

What country are u talking about and IF it is normal to incl. the state in the address (many countries don't use it) then you could contribute to the project by letting us know them..
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

AdrianB86

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • A beginner
Re: State / Province / Region not working in VM 3.0.16
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2016, 12:33:17 pm »
So i did add in the states in the backend. But that didnt work at all.

So i figured that theres no way these entries are communicating with my default country "South Africa". So i did a little check in the MySQL DB and saw there werent any states for South Africa.

I added them in and they all there working perfectly.

www.shoedivas.co.za

Add an item to the cart, go to check out page, at the bottom of the check out page click "Check Out Now" then on the Account page scroll down and youll see it all working 100%.

This was after i fixed the User registration in my previous post.


GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10298
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: State / Province / Region not working in VM 3.0.16
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2016, 13:15:57 pm »
well I just added a state to ZA via the admin

and on the frontend I have
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

AdrianB86

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • A beginner
Re: State / Province / Region not working in VM 3.0.16
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2016, 13:38:19 pm »
Can you post a screenshot of the VM state_id backend? So i can compare mine with yours...

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10298
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: State / Province / Region not working in VM 3.0.16
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2016, 23:44:19 pm »
__________
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation