Author Topic: product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?  (Read 3123 times)

gregcr66

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • A beginner
product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?
« on: February 05, 2016, 19:09:15 pm »
Hi All,

I'm working with custom fields and noticed the datacolumn product_mpn in the customfields table of the DB.
I also see product_sku and product_gtin.

I don't see where this data may be used, but it may be helpful to my cause.

Can someone please let me know what these columns are intended for?

thanks!


AH

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3025
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.3
Re: product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2016, 19:49:01 pm »
its the product Manufacturer Part Number
regards
A

Joomla 3.9.12
php 7.2

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27598
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2016, 20:37:16 pm »
And GTIN is Global Trade Item Number. SKU (stockkeeping unit) is obvious to all businesses.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.10.10211 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33

servlet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 348
  • Business optimization
    • Фототапети
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.2
Re: product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2017, 13:59:15 pm »
Ok.
How to use product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields
When shopper fill custom fields there are only title, price, value
there is on fields for product_mpn or product_gtin
from other side is it possible to display it in confirmation email
I am using: Joomla 3.7.2 VM 3.2.2
Он-лайн магазин за фототапети http://mishelfoster.com

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4067
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2017, 12:49:10 pm »
It's only used for generic variant and multivariant.
I was wondering myself that this are not in the customfiel parameters, we have 2 columns only for this(or more?).

servlet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 348
  • Business optimization
    • Фототапети
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.2
Re: product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2017, 20:42:13 pm »
Thank you for replay
If I import values manually in database how to echo this values in cart or confirmation e-mail inline next to the selected field value
eg Material: WOOD mpn: W2032
Now it is possible to display
Material: WOOD
I am using: Joomla 3.7.2 VM 3.2.2
Он-лайн магазин за фототапети http://mishelfoster.com

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4067
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2017, 23:33:24 pm »
This is bad way to use this fields. And perhaps this get removed a day.
Simply use a customfield having attribute cart, this is displayed in the cart and in the order too.

servlet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 348
  • Business optimization
    • Фототапети
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.2
Re: product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2017, 19:14:28 pm »
I am using customfields with Cart Attribute but I want to add MPN for this field
now I can add CUSTOM VALUE and CUSTOM PRICE when I create product with custom fields. Where is the field for MPN of custom field. There is a column MPN in database but you cannot use it. This option is needed.

No matter it get removed some day. I want to display it in confirmation mail. How to do it.
I am using: Joomla 3.7.2 VM 3.2.2
Он-лайн магазин за фототапети http://mishelfoster.com

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4067
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2017, 23:04:31 pm »
Add a new custom field string and set it as cart attribute and name it MPN or Gtin or any you want add it to your product and fill your MPN and it work, it not need a hack

servlet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 348
  • Business optimization
    • Фототапети
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.2.2
Re: product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2017, 16:17:12 pm »
May be we dont understand each other.

Custom Fields of product

Sizes: 10m, 20m, 30m
Colors: Red, Blue

For what reason I have to add field with MPN field. Any size has own MPN
If user Select Size 20m MPN field will not change and I dont know which is the product in the store...
I am using: Joomla 3.7.2 VM 3.2.2
Он-лайн магазин за фототапети http://mishelfoster.com

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27598
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2017, 16:42:14 pm »
As MPN has to be unique for each size variant, then surely each "variant" should be a different product, ie a child of the parent product.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.10.10211 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33

Studio 42

  • Contributing Developer
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4067
  • Joomla & Virtuemart developper
    • Studio 42 - Virtuemart & Joomla extentions
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.6 & 3
Re: product_mpn in virtuemart_product_customfields what's it for?
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2017, 21:53:46 pm »
If you need NMP for each variant
Sizes: 10m, 20m, 30m
Colors: Red, Blue
...
then use multi variant, because in this case the stock is not the same and perhaps other informations.
If only the color ahve NPM, then use genric variant for color and string list for sizes