Author Topic: [SOLVED] Clone products unpublished  (Read 1778 times)

gba

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 299
[SOLVED] Clone products unpublished
« on: December 01, 2015, 11:07:05 am »
Hi all!

I just noticed, that a cloned product has the same published status as the original product.
This seems to me not very practicable, as normally a 100% clone makes no sense in the shop - usually some modifications are made with a cloned product.
Therefore the clone function should, in my opinion, behave like i.e. cloning Joomla Modules: Being unpublished.

What do you think about that?

Kind regards,
Gerald

Jumbo!

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 679
  • Full-stack Web Developer
    • www.virtueplanet.com
  • VirtueMart Version: Always latest
Re: Clone products unpublished
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2015, 12:27:49 pm »
+1 from my side.

Uke

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Clone products unpublished
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2015, 20:21:57 pm »
Yes i agree, it should be unpublished by default.

(And the "product_sales" field should be set to 0 and not be copy from the original?)

gba

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 299
Re: Clone products unpublished
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2015, 11:20:18 am »
Quote
(And the "product_sales" field should be set to 0 and not be copy from the original?)

Do you mean the field 'product_ordered'?

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10000
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Clone products unpublished
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2015, 11:24:48 am »
There is a new hidden config, called product.published,
just use product.published=0
But is done within 5 minutes and yes I had the same idea some weeks ago.
that a cloned product has the same published status as the original product.
This seems to me not very practicable, as normally a 100% clone makes no sense in the shop - usually some modifications are made with a cloned product.
right
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2473
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.4.x
Re: Clone products unpublished
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2015, 11:27:05 am »
Hello

No he means product_sales. I have made this visible in the backend with a override of the Product view. I see that it copies the value from the product that is cloned. In my case it is easy to both correct and see the actual sales figure.

regards

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.9.8
Virtuemart 3.4.x
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10000
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Clone products unpublished
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2015, 16:55:14 pm »
Jörgen product_sales and product_ordered makes only sense together.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

gba

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 299
Re: Clone products unpublished
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2015, 16:58:34 pm »
Thanks for fixing!  :)

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2473
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.4.x
Re: [SOLVED] Clone products unpublished
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2015, 07:13:04 am »
@ Milbo

Quote
Jörgen product_sales and product_ordered makes only sense together.

Yes I know this, in my case I have all three together in the admin Product Status view and can make an educated evaluation of the sales. But so far when I have cloned a product I inherit an old sales figure. If I later decide use this data in a sql Query I will get the wrong information. Now I can correct the inherited sales and also at a glance see if this is a shelf warmer or a hot selling item. The new configuration setting does not make this totally unneccesary, seeing the sales here is imho a good feature.

Here´s my litte snippet, added to administrato/templates/isis/html/com_virtuemart/product/product_edit_status.php, approx line 50.

Code: [Select]
<!-- sales -->
<th style="text-align:right;">
<?php echo vmText::_('COM_VIRTUEMART_PRODUCT_SALES'); ?>
</th>
<td colspan="3">
<input type="text" class="inputbox" name="product_sales" value="<?php echo $this->product->product_sales?>" size="3" />
</td>
<!-- end sales -->

 I have been using this override since VM 1.1.

My best regards

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.9.8
Virtuemart 3.4.x
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9245
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: [SOLVED] Clone products unpublished
« Reply #9 on: December 11, 2015, 09:02:36 am »
What worries me about this post is that afaik not one poster is a native English speaker but all posts are grammatically perfect...

Oh .. if only English speakers could write like this.......  ;)
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

Jörgen

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2473
    • Kreativ Fotografi
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.4.x
Re: [SOLVED] Clone products unpublished
« Reply #10 on: December 11, 2015, 09:20:43 am »
Thank You GJC , I think  :)

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Joomla 3.9.8
Virtuemart 3.4.x
Olympiantheme Hera (customized)

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9245
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: [SOLVED] Clone products unpublished
« Reply #11 on: December 11, 2015, 12:17:51 pm »
yes. it was a honest compliment to your collective word skills in a 2nd language.. ..  impressed  :)
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27605
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: [SOLVED] Clone products unpublished
« Reply #12 on: December 11, 2015, 15:09:59 pm »
OK, GJ, now let's deal with your poor use of punctuation and capitalisation, starting with this lesson from an old friend of mine.  http://www.dreaded-apostrophe.com
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.10.10211 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9245
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: [SOLVED] Clone products unpublished
« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2015, 15:59:11 pm »
he he...  I never included myself in the praise..  :P

I now pride myself on speaking and writing a sort of NW European gibberish ... having had a good grounding in a 7 house, 1 pub, 1 garage and 1 schoolroom NZ town in the  wop wops....

GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27605
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: [SOLVED] Clone products unpublished
« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2015, 16:36:23 pm »
 ;D
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.10.10211 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33