Author Topic: State / Province / Region dropdown empty  (Read 12969 times)

ReJigged

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
State / Province / Region dropdown empty
« on: March 09, 2015, 13:42:51 pm »
Hi,

I have tried to research this but am now thinking this is a bug or something is missing.

All our customers are in the United Kingdom. However, during checkout the 'State / Region / Province' dropdown does not display any options when United Kingdom is selected as the country. I have read lots and lots of posts saying this is a jquery conflict and have spent the best part of a day trying to fix this.

But by accident I discovered that if 'United States' is selected then the 'State / Region / Province' dropdown now displays all the states to choose from. This would indicate there is no problem with jquery and no conflict.

Can anyone advise why selecting UK would not work? Which file contains these values? Perhaps I need to add them?

VM 3.0.6.2
J! 3.4

Thanks

RJ

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28223
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: State / Province / Region dropdown empty
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2015, 13:48:16 pm »
Some people want countries (eg Wales) and some want counties, eg Somerset. So the states are left empty and can be added if required.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 3.8.9.10473 on Joomla 3.9.28 PHP 7.4.14

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10291
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: State / Province / Region dropdown empty
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2015, 14:43:30 pm »
and as a postcode for a UK address is perfectly adequate most just disable the state field
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

ReJigged

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: State / Province / Region dropdown empty
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2015, 15:53:30 pm »
and as a postcode for a UK address is perfectly adequate most just disable the state field
That sounds great. I can't see this option anywhere though?

Also, can I reduce the country options? We only ship to the UK but customers have to scroll down to that option each time.

I would be grateful for a pointer.

Some people want countries (eg Wales) and some want counties, eg Somerset. So the states are left empty and can be added if required.
OK - for future reference which file is this? Also, on another VM installation I have the options of 'England, Scotland, Wales & Northern Ireland' are displayed.

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10291
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: State / Province / Region dropdown empty
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2015, 17:04:59 pm »
I really think you need to sit down and LEARN your software!

http://docs.virtuemart.net/manual.html
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

ReJigged

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: State / Province / Region dropdown empty
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2015, 17:16:51 pm »
I really think you need to sit down and LEARN your software!

Ha - Thanks for that. I knew that was there....

But I still cannot see the option to disable the state field.

Also, United Kingdom has the four options - England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales listed as states. They are all published.

ReJigged

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: State / Province / Region dropdown empty
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2015, 17:28:08 pm »
Ignore that... I found it.

Thanks for your help.

FaintOfFeint

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • A beginner
Re: State / Province / Region dropdown empty
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2015, 18:25:03 pm »
It would be nice if someone had given a hint of how to fix it. I have a new installation which isn't showing the dropdown for the states in the USA. All the countries are published, and all the states are published.

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10291
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: State / Province / Region dropdown empty
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2015, 18:31:41 pm »
Please don't add to posts that aren't the same problem/subject

If you have no State dropdowns for any country then will be a Javascript conflict

without a live url and versions can't help further
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

FaintOfFeint

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • A beginner
Re: State / Province / Region dropdown empty
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2015, 19:12:28 pm »
Mine was the same problem, and none of the replies gave any hints until yours.
I did dig up another thread where a Javascript conflict was mentioned, which let me find that my site template apparently has a Javascript conflict with VirtueMart.
When I changed in VirtueMart the template selection back to Protostar, then the U.S. State dropdown started working.
... I then got a 500 server error, probably because the Joomspirit template uses a different URL redirection scheme.
But now I just need to go shop for a VM-friendly template.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 28223
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: State / Province / Region dropdown empty
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2015, 19:28:38 pm »
Check out https://www.virtuemarttemplates.eu or  https://www.virtueplanet.com/joomla-templates/  - both designers are involved in VM development and testing.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VirtueMart 3.8.9.10473 on Joomla 3.9.28 PHP 7.4.14