Author Topic: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?  (Read 44845 times)

balai

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1372
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #45 on: February 09, 2015, 13:21:21 pm »
New beta released. Please test and let me know

http://breakdesigns.net/extensions/stockable-custom-fields

sonickev

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Skype Name: sonickev2001
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.0.4
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #46 on: February 10, 2015, 01:26:00 am »
I've tried out the beta plugin - here is a live example -
http://elanvape.com/index.php/en/shop/liquids/eve-guava-custom-detail

The parent product displays as zero stock

The correct options are available in the pulldowns

All child products have stock and are varied pricing

Thats about it really - nothing happens - choose an option - nothing. No combination can be added to the cart

Any ideas?

balai

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1372
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #47 on: February 10, 2015, 12:49:02 pm »
It's a template issue.
Your template alters the drop-down lists (select) to ul lists.
That makes our scripts useless.

Try altering template (1m that displays drop-downs as drop-downs) and will probably work

sonickev

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Skype Name: sonickev2001
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.0.4
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #48 on: February 11, 2015, 02:12:53 am »
Thank you.

my apologies but I don't understand your response...
Quote
1m that displays drop-downs as drop-downs

The template works with all other Virtuemart Custom Fields..they all update the picture and pricing...can you suggest how to resolve this?

Otherwise it seems sensible to stay within Virtuemart standard and wait for generic child to be fixed.

The lack of a standard within Virtuemart, for the cart/checkout, is starting to look like it isn't a viable solution for a clothing store.

I've supported it until now, but basic functionality of color/size for a stocked item really should be a basic requirement shouldn't it?

Realistically, if you have a t-shirt in black and white and in medium and large - each with its own quantity in stock - isn't that REALLY REALLY basic for an e-commerce solution?

Right now, on a Virtuemart forum, where on this thread everyone is looking for a basic ability...I'm shocked.

sonickev

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Skype Name: sonickev2001
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.0.4
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #49 on: February 11, 2015, 03:37:06 am »
At the moment we have -

http://elanvape.com/index.php/en/shop/liquids/eve-guava-e-liquid-detail
which uses a child variant

Then we have -
http://elanvape.com/index.php/en/shop/liquids/eve-guava-custom-detail
which uses balai's stockable plugin

Then -
http://elanvape.com/index.php/en/shop/liquids/eve-guava-generic-parent-detail
which is a generic child variant

All of them show the parent product as out of stock, despite the parent product not being orderable - wrong
generic child updates the page with the correct status but then offers stock beyond the child variant
stockable and child variant do not update price or stock (though I am told that this is because my template uses ul rather than dropdown...ongoing)

Right now, I do not have a stock-true option from an e-commerce solution that is in its third major release.

balai

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1372
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #50 on: February 11, 2015, 11:50:08 am »
@sonickev
Besides the stock issue, which Max is most appropriate to answer, i don't understand where is the blame of the ecommerce solution when you have a template that renders all the scripts useless.

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8892
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.4.2
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #51 on: February 11, 2015, 17:01:24 pm »
haven't had time to test these different methods but noticed on another project that the $this->product->product_in_stock in the default details template is always the parent even after the ajax reload

dirty fix in models/products.php ~ line 792


Code: [Select]
if (!$child->published && $onlyPublished) {
self::$_products[$productKey] = false;
return FALSE;
}
//GJC  fix for child stock
$child->child_stock = $child->product_in_stock;
//GJC
if(!isset($child->orderable)){
$child->orderable = TRUE;
}

then in template $this->product->child_stock  is always correct
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

dslove

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #52 on: February 11, 2015, 20:18:57 pm »
Balai, just tried your plugin and I find it excellent.
VM3 might be very powerful and offer new possibilities (great work VM Team!) but this part is not very intuitive. Thanks for making it so!
Will notify you of any bugs I might discover! :)

sonickev

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Skype Name: sonickev2001
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.0.4
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #53 on: February 12, 2015, 03:44:23 am »
@sonickev
Besides the stock issue, which Max is most appropriate to answer, i don't understand where is the blame of the ecommerce solution when you have a template that renders all the scripts useless.

Changing the ul to dropdown as you described...do you think there is an easy way to do that, or will I need the template rewritten? The template appears to work with the current virtuemart custom fields. I wonder if there is simply a plugin or perhaps I can backtrack to some standard VM3 code for the product area.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

sonickev

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Skype Name: sonickev2001
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.0.4
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #54 on: February 12, 2015, 04:04:24 am »
Try altering template (1m that displays drop-downs as drop-downs) and will probably work

Sorry, I don't understand your comment here, I don't understand "1m"

thank you for your assistance. I have asked the developers if it can be changed.

alextor

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #55 on: February 17, 2015, 23:14:44 pm »
I released a beta version
You can find details here
http://breakdesigns.net/extensions/stockable-custom-fields

Please send me your feedback

Hi, I installed your extension, I followed your instructions, everything seems ok, but in product nothing happens when i select a variant, the click on select variant does not work.

Menace

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #56 on: February 18, 2015, 10:27:11 am »
I tested balais plugin und even with the beta3 version I have the problem, that the assigned custom field string of the childs show up as soon as a variant is selected additionally to the parents dropdown select box. This happens on all test sites even with blank vm setups.

Anyone else?

balai

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1372
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #57 on: February 18, 2015, 10:49:19 am »
@Menace
I suppose that you did not follow the manual.
http://breakdesigns.net/stockable-customfields-manual

Please follow it carefully and you will see that this does not happen

spi7fire

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • VirtueMart Version: 3
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #58 on: February 18, 2015, 14:39:30 pm »
I've tried both with Balai Plugin and with VM Child Variants as explained by Milbo,
But i cant figure out how to fix the problem of reselecting item from the drop-down. 
On the first time i select size it works fine, but if i try to select again another size it changes the URL to the number i've selected and doesn't change the product.
Any suggestions?

balai

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1372
Re: VM3 Stockable variants for Size + Color?
« Reply #59 on: February 18, 2015, 16:28:19 pm »
Quote
On the first time i select size it works fine, but if i try to select again another size it changes the URL to the number i've selected and doesn't change the product.
It is possibly a template issue related with the scripts