News:

Looking for documentation? Take a look on our wiki

Main Menu

Some Custom Fields in Parent do not populate Children.. Why?

Started by scottshort, July 19, 2014, 20:15:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

scottshort

Summary of Question:  Why some Parent [or Grandparent] fields populate Children products while others do not and how to get them all to pass through. e.g. Product Dimensions & Weight, Related Categories, Related Products

Question in Detail:
Hello,

I am running VM 2.0.22a and Joomla 2.5.16 on my development site ready to go live in a few days.  I have question to understand why some parent data will populate its children and for some reason other parent data will not.  I am not a developer and have learned as I go and am working with a developer who is handling the shopping cart, payment gateways, & shipping.  I have been responsible for entering and formatting all product data and info.

My scenario:
I have a number of shoe styles in many colors and sizes
I have installed the VM Custom Stockable Variants Plugin and have set up a grandparent - parent- child relationship where:
The grandparent is a particular shoe style; e.g. "Classic Shoe" - [note that this Grandparent is not published as there are is inventory for this - it acts more like a category]
The parent is a particular color; e.g. "Classic Shoe - Black" -  [Note all parents are published but again no inventory]
The children are each size; e.g. "Classic Shoe - Black - Size 36, etc. - [all published and sizes visible via drop down box]

This is all setup and is working very well allowing me to show each shoe and color on my product page and when a shoe of any color is selected you can choose the size.  I have a number of different photos for each shoe color so this works well for me.