"Ask a Question" Opens Window Instead of Popup - Problem Found! Thankyou!

Started by Bel, June 05, 2014, 15:28:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bel

My site is running Joomla 2.5.20 and Virtuemart 2.6.6.  I recently upgraded to the latest version of Joomla from an earlier 2.5 version, and I seem to have broken the "ask a question" button.  Instead of opening a little popup box like it's supposed to, it's now opening a whole new page over the top of the old one.  The page works exactly as the popup did and sends email correctly.   I'm not a web developer but I would like to be able to maintain this site myself, so I'm trying to learn as much as I can.

Here's a link to a page on the site where you can see this:
[link removed as the issue is now fixed, thank you all so much!]

I would greatly appreciate any help anyone could give me. I'm trying to work through possible solutions logically, but I'm quite new to this so there could easily be something very obvious that I'm missing.  I can usually find and follow instructions on how to fix problems with the site, but at the moment I'm not sure where to start.

So far, based on other similar threads I've read on here, I have tried:
-switching from our custom template to the beez template for virtuemart - this had no effect on the problem that I could see
-using jQuery to run 1.8 library (no effect)
-switching off k2 jquery (no effect)
-switching off virtuemart jquery (no effect)
-switching off virtuemart css (made product pages look odd)
-disabled K2 (made everything else look odd!)
-looking at FireBug script tab... I didn't see any errors but I'm not entirely sure what I was looking for, so that doesn't mean there weren't any.

After each thing I tried, I put the settings back the way they were beforehand.

I'm currently reading up on how to use Firebug properly, although I'm still not certain what I'm looking for in the script.