Author Topic: No more stock control?!?!  (Read 3454 times)

ka3media

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
No more stock control?!?!
« on: September 26, 2014, 23:34:54 pm »
Version: 2.6.10 on J2.5.25

It is known, that I can trick M`VMs stock controll (stockable childs) by ordering for example 5+5+5+5, although there are only 5 in stock.

But now you can order 50 in one klick, although there are only 5 in stock!!! Absolutely NO more stock control now.

As there is no stock, the "notify me" hint comes... everything is fine. But if there is only one in stock, you can order as much as you like...

Can anybody verify this and is there a solution? If this is the actual state of the software, then this is a deadshot for every shop...

John2400

  • Virtuemart - the Future is ever Changing
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1568
  • VirtueMart Version: Use VM3.0.12
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2014, 12:39:53 pm »
Not sure exactly where you added the products- i did this at the product and tried in the cart too.. I did try doing your 5+5+ 5 on a product.

I have set in the product status of the shop some regulated steps to prevent what you said. In products.

The image shows you the warning I got.

I tested it on several products - although the shop added the products in the cart it prevented me from going any further.

Maybe you can show us an image example..


[attachment cleanup by admin]

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9997
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2014, 15:21:10 pm »
and also this last little mistake should be fixed in vm3.

Furthermore most shops do not have customers who try to tricks it. VM is also not an ERP yet.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

ka3media

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2014, 11:07:26 am »
The Problem with adding several lines with one problem is not so important.

More important... and that's the point in my posting... is, that the system NOW don't care about any stock. It let the buyer order as much as he likes.

Please see example with seetings



ka3media

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2014, 00:25:25 am »
Ok, checked this completely:

2.0.26 was the last version with a functional stock control. Within 2.6.x there is no control of the stock of a stockable child product... the customer can order what ever he want!

Was this a change in behavior that was wanted?

Is it not important to have the products in stock, so that the customer get's what he ordered?!?!?

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9997
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2014, 07:49:59 am »
*selbstzensiert*

um deine Fragen zu beantworten
"Ja es war beabsichtigt das Feature zu zerstören"
"Wir haben ein Inventar system, aber es ist nur da um den Shopowner zu foppen, ja... man,.. wir haben das nur geschrieben Um DICH zu ärgern. Sonst nix. wirklich! Wir haben nichts besseres zu tun, als FEatures kaputt zu machen, Bugs einzubauen und alle zu ärgern die VM benutzen und nicht unsere Kunden sind"

Achja,... da müssten noch Ironie tags aussen rum

now seriously in english again
I tested it on several products - although the shop added the products in the cart it prevented me from going any further.

Uhmm,.. but John tells a different story. Maybe it is the stock setting "Show info", does it work as expected with the other options?
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

John2400

  • Virtuemart - the Future is ever Changing
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1568
  • VirtueMart Version: Use VM3.0.12
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2014, 11:44:49 am »
I thought I'd give it one more try to see if stock control was wrong?
* I set up a product that had 10 items in stock - maximum purchase 10 - but I had one on order already.
* I set, send me low stock notification at about 7 items
* I also set the email reminder for customers .


The result was that I could add 11 items into the cart -- but the software told me that I cannot purchase 11 because only 9 left.
It went to the cart but would not again proceed.


* The purchase was perfect. The customer received 9 goods, the buyer received an invoice for 9 good, plus also a notification that stock was low.
* The Inventory changed perfectly.
* I tried to trick it but it again stopped me from purchasing any more.
* I re-added the stock and sent a notification to customers -


* I only speak - English but I think you can see it worked perfectly ..   

[attachment cleanup by admin]

ka3media

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2014, 15:19:44 pm »
um deine Fragen zu beantworten
"Ja es war beabsichtigt das Feature zu zerstören"
"Wir haben ein Inventar system, aber es ist nur da um den Shopowner zu foppen, ja... man,.. wir haben das nur geschrieben Um DICH zu ärgern. Sonst nix. wirklich! Wir haben nichts besseres zu tun, als FEatures kaputt zu machen, Bugs einzubauen und alle zu ärgern die VM benutzen und nicht unsere Kunden sind"

** Nun ja, es hätte ja sein können, dass es im Rahmen der geplanten 2.9 / 3.x Umstellung absichtlich heraus genommen wurde. Kann mich an eine Aussage von Dir erinnern, bei der DU geschrieben hast, dass das kein "Must have" ist. Derzeit gibt es ja auch keine Funktion in der 2.9 **

Now back to english:

John, thank you for trying this out. But have you seen, that I'm talking about "stockable childs" - products, generated with the stockable childs plugin.

The result was that I could add 11 items into the cart -- but the software told me that I cannot purchase 11 because only 9 left.

Yes, this was the behavior for stockable Child products, too - before update to 2.6

I tested the following scenario: Joomla 2.5 with VM 2.0.25d - everything works perfect. The system tells the customer that the maximum is reached and corrected the items to the max stock available. Fine! Then Update to VM 2.6 incl. aio - stock control for childs is broken. Every number of items is accepted and is in the cart then. -  Then install again 2.0.25d with aio via the Joomla Extension Installer... everything is fine again. Again update to 2.6 - broken again.

When not VM or the stockable plugin broke the stock control... what is my error???

ka3media

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2014, 17:02:43 pm »
No more comment on this???

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9997
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2014, 11:39:31 am »
Stockable childs are buggy. The reason we replace them with "child variants".
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

ka3media

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2014, 11:44:15 am »
As far as I see, is the function similar... a product with a parent and stock control. Am I right?

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9997
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2014, 19:31:47 pm »
Yes. The problem with the stockable is, that it is mainly using children, but not completly. So sometimes,.. and I think that could count for the cart, you get the amount for the all variants. It is interesting problem and it should be solved for vm3, if not, just write here. :-)
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

ka3media

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2014, 19:39:23 pm »
Ok, we will have a look... first I had setup two copys for John so he can see the problem and the settings in the backend.

Because there is no way to upgrade stockable childs to 2.9/3.x (now), I have to take some time to prepare an importlist for the new "children" ;) Then we check it out and tell about our experience

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9997
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: No more stock control?!?!
« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2014, 16:53:45 pm »
This should be not necessary. You can use the same children as before. It is mainly a replacing of the stockable in the product and adjust the new settings.

Actually the last thing I want todo for vm3.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/