Author Topic: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26  (Read 3550 times)

shanDB

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • PROTOCOL DROID - Noobie Web Designer Tips & Solutions
The link on the "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken. Nothing happens when it's clicked.

I'm using the latest VM 2.26 with Joomla 2.5.16  - tested with the standard joomla templates with no overrides.
PROTOCOL DROID - Noobie Web Designer Tips & Solutions
http://shantronix.wordpress.com

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10008
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2013, 10:48:19 am »
Our standard text is

"Click here to read terms of service and check the box to accept them. "

and it works for me.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27625
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2013, 11:16:37 am »
Works OK for me too with default VM2.0.26 and no template overrides.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.10.10211 on Joomla 3.9.14 PHP 7.0.33

shanDB

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • PROTOCOL DROID - Noobie Web Designer Tips & Solutions
Re: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2013, 11:26:20 am »
Hmm,. Thanks guys.. Still can't get it happening.
tried a combination of switching the VM java script on off. Still made no difference.
PROTOCOL DROID - Noobie Web Designer Tips & Solutions
http://shantronix.wordpress.com

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9282
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2013, 11:35:53 am »
As suggested above it would seem your using an over ride on your cart.. your text is different for a start..

try disabling it then it should work  - then work backwards from there to find why your over ride breaks it..
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

shanDB

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • PROTOCOL DROID - Noobie Web Designer Tips & Solutions
Re: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26
« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2013, 11:46:41 am »
As suggested above it would seem your using an over ride on your cart..

No.. Not using any overrides.. stated that in my original post
(My text is different because I typed it from memory in my post).
PROTOCOL DROID - Noobie Web Designer Tips & Solutions
http://shantronix.wordpress.com

GJC Web Design

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9282
  • Virtuemart, Joomla & php developer
    • GJC Web Design
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.6.8
Re: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2013, 16:22:47 pm »
what does Firebug console say when you click the link?

Loads of good posts on here about js conflicts
GJC Web Design
VirtueMart and Joomla Developers - php developers http://www.gjcwebdesign.com
VM3 AusPost Shipping Plugin - e-go Shipping Plugin - VM3 Postcode Shipping Plugin - Radius Shipping Plugin - VM3 NZ Post Shipping Plugin - AusPost Estimator
Samport Payment Plugin - EcomMerchant Payment Plugin - ccBill payment Plugin
VM2 Product Lock Extension - VM2 Preconfig Adresses Extension - TaxCloud USA Taxes Plugin - Virtuemart  Product Review Component
http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/profile/details/67210
Contact for any VirtueMart or Joomla development & customisation

BlueOwl

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2014, 16:18:06 pm »
Hi!

I have the same problem. I just upgraded to 26d and if I now click in cart the accept the tos link, I get a blank page where the email from shopadmin is shown 3 times in a row!

The source code of this almost blank page shows the normal cart page.

I use overrides, but I tried also this with the atomic template. It was the same problem!

I get following javascript errors, when I click on the link

Code: [Select]
GET http://domain.com/shop/components/com_virtuemart/assets/images/facebox/loading.gif 404 (Not Found)
GET http://domain.com/shop/components/com_virtuemart/assets/images/facebox/closelabel.png 404 (Not Found)

Additional information

This happend with the latest chrome. If I try this on IE, I get the same blank page, but only one time the email adress of the shop owner. In firefox is same like chrome.

I checked the files in

/components/com_virtuemart/assets/images/facebox

and both files are there!

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27625
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2014, 17:15:43 pm »
Check your TOS content is not too long for the fancybox modal window.

url?
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.10.10211 on Joomla 3.9.14 PHP 7.0.33

cpt_avatar

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2014, 20:16:32 pm »
I'm facing similar issue :
I'm using VirtueMart Registration form, where I cannot remove the TOS.
There is the check box for the TOS that cannot be removed, but no link appear ?

The link works fine during the checkout process.

Any suggestion ? I'm using Gantry template.

Thanks
Andrea

Currently using VM2.0.26d on Joomla 2.5.11 PHP 5.2.17

BlueOwl

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26
« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2014, 08:46:16 am »
Check your TOS content is not too long for the fancybox modal window.

url?

The TOS content is really long, I believe it can be too long. BUT it worked before with the same text?

The shop-url is this:

http://bobi-briefkasten.com/

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10008
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2014, 10:43:34 am »
I noticed, some of you are using the facebox. I tested it with facebox, works also for me. In your case BlueOwl there are some overrides. I cannot access the TOS, without entering my data. you must change this for germany.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

BlueOwl

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: "Click here to accept out terms of service" link is broken VM 2.0.26
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2014, 08:38:14 am »
Thank you!

The customers can access the TOS always with the link on the right bottom, so I believe this is enough.

Yes I know there are overrides. But the TOS box worked before the updates.

But, since it is the same problem with the standard joomla template, it cannot be caused by the overrides. Any clue how I can fix this? Could I change the behavior of the box so instead it opens a link in new window?

Addition:

I tried to activate the fancybox. It is the same problem (I emptied cache of shop and of browser, and tried again, no change) But it did not help.

I have now deleted all the overrides in the template from cart. There are no overrides now.

Still it is the same problem. Now you can check by yourself, it is showing the one page checkout, I think, but it is NOT activated in the backend????

I also have the problem, that user is getting the message "please accept our tos" way too early. Now with this configuration, user gets the message after adding his adress data. This message should come only, if user tries to shop and has not accepted the tos.

Second addition

Since I cannot wait on our live site (hey, I know, but I did the update local first  :P ) this to get checked, I made a override (downloaded the default.php from virtuemart components/cart ) and edited the javascript like this

Code: [Select]
//<![CDATA[
jQuery(document).ready(function($) {
$('div#full-tos').hide();
var con = $('div#full-tos').html();
$('a#terms-of-service').click(function(event) {
event.preventDefault();
$('div#full-tos').show();
});
$('a#hide-tos').click(function(event) {
event.preventDefault();
$('div#full-tos').hide();
});
});

//]]>

And in the div with the full tos I added the closing link:

Code: [Select]
<div id="full-tos">
<a href="/" id="hide-tos">- Hide TOS -</a>
<h2><?php echo JText::('COM_VIRTUEMART_CART_TOS'); ?></h2>
<?php echo $this->cart->vendor->vendor_terms_of_service?>
<a href="/" id="hide-tos">- Hide TOS -</a>
</div>

as a workaround. Now the customer gets all the TOS just below the link, and can hide them from there also.


I searched also, I am using yootheme_master template, and there can be some bugs if you have compression activated, that images are not found. Since I had the same javascript error, I tried to turn compression off. I did not help, though.

This seems to be some odd javascript problem, would be great if somebody finds out, why this happens