Author Topic: Thumbnail image paths not showing in file_url_thumb in VM_medias table  (Read 7912 times)

sandstorm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • ConCom
  • Skype Name: sandstorm871
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.0.16
I noticed something, by accident when I was trying to export some product information using CSVi.
All my new products I added since updating to VM2.0.22C & now tested with 2.0.24B don't seem to have a thumb image path in my CSVI export.

SO I started digging around and it seems they are not being added to  file_url_thumb field in virtuemart_medias database table.

When I manually load an image into a new product in the back of virtuemart.
The image & thumb are both generated OK but the path for the "Used URL Thumb" in the backend of virtuemart starts with (Default URL) I cant recall wether this was always there or not?
Code: [Select]
(Default URL) images/stories/virtuemart/product/resized/test_150x150.pngAnd after checking in virtuemart_medias database table there is no entry in file_url_thumb in the database for the newly added image.

But If in the back end of VM, I remove the (Default URL) & hit save, the screen saves & refreshes.
The Thumb URL still shows the (Default URL) text at the beginning of the path, but now in file_url_thumb in the databse for the new entry, we now have a path entry.

Is this a VM bug or maybe just not used anymore in the newest versions of VM2.0.22+

I tried adding an image and then going to Shop > Media > synchronize & this also doesnt add the thumb path to file_url_thumb in the virtuemart_medias table

Thanks,
Andy
J3.6.4 / PHP7.0.12
VM3.0.16

sandstorm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • ConCom
  • Skype Name: sandstorm871
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.0.16
Re: Thumbnail image paths not showing in file_url_thumb in VM_medias table
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2013, 11:08:53 am »
Surely I'm not the only person that has noticed this or is being affected by it? ::)

I am not a developer, so I cannot find a solution to the problem, but happy to test any patch if anybody has any ideas?
J3.6.4 / PHP7.0.12
VM3.0.16

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27897
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Thumbnail image paths not showing in file_url_thumb in VM_medias table
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2013, 12:11:06 pm »
AFAIK the url/path has not been stored for a few versions now.

Found it: "changed behaviour of media thumbs, the path/url is not stored unless it is an overwrite" in http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=115877.msg390380#msg390380
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.8.5 10338 on Joomla 3.9.22 PHP 7.4.9

sandstorm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • ConCom
  • Skype Name: sandstorm871
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.0.16
Re: Thumbnail image paths not showing in file_url_thumb in VM_medias table
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2013, 13:00:14 pm »
AFAIK the url/path has not been stored for a few versions now.
That would make sense as I updated from 2.0.18 to 2.0.22.   Any ideas/help on how to create this as an overwrite. 
I need to use CSVi to export products thumbnails and as they are now not stored anywhere I cant export them.

I read through the forum post that jenkilhill pointed me to, but this just tells us that mediathumbs are now now longer stored?
J3.6.4 / PHP7.0.12
VM3.0.16

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10070
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Thumbnail image paths not showing in file_url_thumb in VM_medias table
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2013, 13:55:21 pm »
They are only stored, if you are using an override, else the path is always created by the same scheme.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

sandstorm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • ConCom
  • Skype Name: sandstorm871
  • VirtueMart Version: 3.0.16
Re: Thumbnail image paths not showing in file_url_thumb in VM_medias table
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2013, 14:34:11 pm »
Spoke with Roland at CSVi.
They are going to modify CSVi, to use the same method as virtuemart
J3.6.4 / PHP7.0.12
VM3.0.16

lostmail

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 280
AFAIK the url/path has not been stored for a few versions now.

Found it: "changed behaviour of media thumbs, the path/url is not stored unless it is an overwrite" in http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=115877.msg390380#msg390380

What a nonsense ???
The path is stored since VM 1.x to 2.0 and 2.6 does not.
Any you recommend to upload a thumbnail in a second upload sequence only to fill the structure of the SQL ?

Can anyone tell me what the reason is for that Step back ??

I can not create products with image ulploading and than again "replace Minithumb" only to get the "file_url_thumb" table filled in !!!

Please fix that just in time or give an idea for he "Overwrite" (but I hate overwrites)....
Minithumb is created but SQL not filled  :-\ :-\ :-\ with the path to Minithumb - very usefull  :'(
Joomla 3.x + VM 3.6.x (for Testing without any additional Extensions)

mbrando

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • www.JIKOmetrix.net
Hello,

VM 2.6 and having the same issue. recently used CSVi to up load products with image URLs. I thought they would have processed them but no thumbnails created.

Just (Default URL) images/stories/virtuemart/product/resized/xyz__150x150.jpg for the thumb path.

- Mike
Reliable Web Hosting www.JIKOmetrix.net

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10070
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
read the manual!

It is widely explain. you have to do NOTHING ! just upload your picture and DO NOTHING. The thumbs are automatically generated since version vm2.0.0. And the paths are not stored because they are anyway generated. If you change your default thumbsize, then you get now new thumbs. The old system did not create new thumbs. Because the autogeneration is only done IF there is no file. IF there is something written in the thumb path, then it is understand as override. Then it takes always the file written in the path. But that is the wrong way to use it. Only people like JJK selling Art are using the override thumb stuff, because they manually thumb their images.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/