Author Topic: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"  (Read 10445 times)

anna_w27

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"
« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2013, 10:25:01 am »
My whole website was blank caused by Phoca Virtuemart Category Module. It doesn't work with the new version Virtuemart.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9997
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"
« Reply #16 on: November 21, 2013, 11:54:12 am »
Please read here http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=120413.msg410322#msg410322

There is a new category model provided, just replace your old one and everything will work again. You should also update your php to 5.3 latest
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

bomneukmc

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"
« Reply #17 on: December 08, 2013, 16:20:48 pm »
Hi Milbo,

This stiill doens't work for me. I added it and also created the suggested menu item, it does show only the categories. But after clicking on the category the products' won't show up And i get an blank page. I know that for some people the 'solution'  works, but not for me. I updated all the components, tried different overrides nothing works.

Plz help

bomneukmc

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"
« Reply #18 on: December 08, 2013, 16:33:19 pm »
Ok I have finally found the answer:

In order to get the 'old' categories layout back you need to do the next steps:

1. create the categories.php file as suggested by milbo
2. After you uploaded the categories.php file set your menu view to categories and save it
3. edit the file : administrator/components/com_virtuemart/views/category/view.html.php and replace the following line(around line 216):

if(!empty($menu->query['categorylayout'])){

replace it with:
if(!empty($menu->query['categorylayout']) and $menu->query['virtuemart_category_id']==$categoryId){

Now the 'old' category layout without all the products udnerneath will show, and the category page will not be blank anymore.


Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9997
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"
« Reply #19 on: December 10, 2013, 19:14:40 pm »
No you do NOT TO HACK THE CORE, damnit

This is solved since weeks, please just use the latest version http://dev.virtuemart.net/attachments/download/666/com_virtuemart.2.0.25f_extract_first.zip

What you do is just to copy the category view and call it categories and choose then right layout.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9997
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"
« Reply #20 on: December 11, 2013, 02:24:49 am »
No you do NOT need TO HACK THE CORE, damnit

This is solved since weeks, please just use the latest version http://dev.virtuemart.net/attachments/download/666/com_virtuemart.2.0.25f_extract_first.zip

What you do is just to copy the category view and call it categories and choose then right layout.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

userakos

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
You dont need any overwrite. You just go to your menu in joomla, add a new menu,... choose the vm categorY layout. Select their in the joomla parameter part the layout "categories". Thats it.

Hi,

I followed the solution going to the menu item and setting the parameter "Page Layout" to "categories" but I see an empty page.
If I use the other solution through the VM configuration it works but I don't want this solution because it hides the products.

I have created only 1 category with two products.
I use the latest version 2.6.0 of VM.

Thanks