Author Topic: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"  (Read 10458 times)

simbus82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 109
    • Simbus82 Web & Tech
When i create a link to the "parent" of all categories i have a black page. In Joomla menu is "Categories List"...

The url generated is

Code: [Select]
/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=categories&virtuemart_category_id=0
Why now, with 2.0.24b, i see a blank page?
(source code is really blank!)
Joomla! 2.5.16 & VM 2.0.24b

simbus82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 109
    • Simbus82 Web & Tech
The problem occour even i select a single category.


With "developer error message" i can see

Code: [Select]
Fatal error: Using $this when not in object context in /home/var/www/gialdi.quantility.it/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/models/category.php on line 121


public function getChildCategoryList($vendorId, $virtuemart_category_id,$selectedOrdering = null, $orderDir = null, $cache = true) {

if($selectedOrdering===null){
//$selectedOrdering = VmConfig::get('browse_cat_orderby_field','category_name');
$selectedOrdering = $this->_selectedOrdering;
}
if(!in_array($selectedOrdering, self::$_validOrderingFields)){
$selectedOrdering = 'category_name';
}

if($orderDir===null){
//$orderDir = VmConfig::get('cat_brws_orderby_dir', 'ASC');
$orderDir = $this->_selectedOrderingDir;
}




if i comment the row with the "$this" all works!!!

found a bug, debugged, bypassed the error... now i hope in a fast release of solution please :-(
Joomla! 2.5.16 & VM 2.0.24b

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27603
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
No problem here. Check your configuration.

For categories display I have a main menu link set to VM type "Category Layout" with the  "Select a Category" set to Top Level Category and "Browsepage" set to no override.

Then in Config/Templates/Shopfront Settings I have set "Category Layout" to "Categories".  I have no overrides and am using Beez20 template.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.10.10211 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33

simbus82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 109
    • Simbus82 Web & Tech
No problem here. Check your configuration.

For categories display I have a main menu link set to VM type "Category Layout" with the  "Select a Category" set to Top Level Category and "Browsepage" set to no override.

Then in Config/Templates/Shopfront Settings I have set "Category Layout" to "Categories".  I have no overrides and am using Beez20 template.

See my last edit please!

The problem is with menu link set to "Categories Layout", the layout that call the tmpl in "categories" folder inside VM frontend component.
Joomla! 2.5.16 & VM 2.0.24b

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10000
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Beware the difference please and this is also the reason we removed it.

We had a catgorieS view and a categorY view. We removed the categories view and what you see there is just the old view, which is not maintained anylonger. So how to reproduce the old categories view? There are two ways.

Either you use the way of Jenkinhill to set for all category's views as default the layout "categories". Or and I think this is what you want to achieve is to create a menulink to the view category and to select there the categories layout.

The url generated is
Code: [Select]
/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=categories&virtuemart_category_id=0

So you can see at your link, that you used the obsolete categories view. Why we did not remove the obsolete view? because a lot people use it the old way, with their overrides and it should still work for them as they are used to it.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

simbus82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 109
    • Simbus82 Web & Tech
Beware the difference please and this is also the reason we removed it.

We had a catgorieS view and a categorY view. We removed the categories view and what you see there is just the old view, which is not maintained anylonger. So how to reproduce the old categories view? There are two ways.

Either you use the way of Jenkinhill to set for all category's views as default the layout "categories". Or and I think this is what you want to achieve is to create a menulink to the view category and to select there the categories layout.

The url generated is
Code: [Select]
/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=categories&virtuemart_category_id=0

So you can see at your link, that you used the obsolete categories view. Why we did not remove the obsolete view? because a lot people use it the old way, with their overrides and it should still work for them as they are used to it.

Oh thanks, but where you have write in site about this?

So i need to create a my override of "categorY" with same logic of "categorIES" and select it in the menu link "single category"?
Joomla! 2.5.16 & VM 2.0.24b

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10000
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
You dont need any overwrite. You just go to your menu in joomla, add a new menu,... choose the vm categorY layout. Select their in the joomla parameter part the layout "categories". Thats it.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27603
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Oh thanks, but where you have write in site about this?

It was in the news, http://virtuemart.net/news/latest-news/450-virtuemart-2-0-24a-includes-klarna-checkout see #3 under "New features in VirtueMart 2.0.24a"
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.10.10211 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33

anna_w27

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
I had the same problem, and I've tried your solutions, but it only works with the Beez20 template, and when you click on a category it takes ages loading... Is there another way to fix it?.. And is there a possibility to go back to the previous Virtuemart version first, so I can test...

anna_w27

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Hm.. just found out, that at one of my other websites it does work... I will test some more.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10000
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2013, 11:38:16 am »
We announced also in the news before that categories view is obsolete.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

anna_w27

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"
« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2013, 12:21:03 pm »
At the moment my backend is down. I get a blank page with http error 503. When it was still working I've made a backup and installed at localhost, but here I have the same problem now. Any idea what happened? I only made some adjustments to the category menus.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10000
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"
« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2013, 12:56:26 pm »
that should not affect in any case the backend. php version? joomla version,.. etc?
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

anna_w27

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"
« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2013, 13:10:54 pm »
PHP Version 5.3.10
Joomla 2.5.16
Virtuemart 2.0.24b

anna_w27

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2.0.24b Blank page with a menu to "Categories List -> First Category Level"
« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2013, 13:21:34 pm »
When I change the following in configuration.php (public $ gzip = "1";) to (Public $ gzip = "0";) the backend is working again.
But I think the problem has to do with something else, but I don't have a clue what, but maybe that's not your problem :p

Thank you anyways!