Author Topic: Language Overrides not working?  (Read 1237 times)

usermee

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Language Overrides not working?
« on: September 17, 2013, 05:25:57 am »
Is it just me or are the Language Overrides not working anymore?
I have added the overrides to the backend, however no changes occur on the site, it still seems to default to the en-GB.com_virtuemart.ini language definitions.

Joomla! 2.5.14
VM 2.0.22b

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: Language Overrides not working?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 11:10:52 am »
In the Dev Portal (check top of that page) 22d version is available.

usermee

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Language Overrides not working?
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2013, 16:43:45 pm »
Thanks, I have updated, but the issue still remains.

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: Language Overrides not working?
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2013, 09:49:08 am »
I have added the overrides to the backend, however no changes occur on the site, it still seems to default to the en-GB.com_virtuemart.ini language definitions.
Be more specific then.

Engholm

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • pixeldiele mediendesign
Re: Language Overrides not working?
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2013, 10:20:05 am »
just feedback: Language backend overrides work fine for me in Joomla! 2.5.14 VM 2.0.22c / VM 2.0.22d

usermee

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Language Overrides not working?
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2013, 13:25:24 pm »
In the backend I have added the override (image1), in the frontend it is not used (image2). If I directly edit the en-GB.com_virtuemart.ini file and make the change, it then works correctly in the frontend.

[attachment cleanup by admin]

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: Language Overrides not working?
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2013, 21:00:32 pm »
You could pm me access.

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: Language Overrides not working?
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2013, 13:57:56 pm »
I could make an override for 'Sales price'. Can't test override for email - I'm just admin only, not superadmin.

usermee

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Language Overrides not working?
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2013, 23:58:47 pm »
The strange thing is that I have made other overrides which work, for some reason just that one override created does not want to take unless I edit the core .ini file...weird!?
I have made it super admin if you would like to take another look. Thanks for the help.

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: Language Overrides not working?
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2013, 12:05:44 pm »
That's right. Weird. So it's time to write correct Language Value into php file.

shanDB

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • PROTOCOL DROID - Noobie Web Designer Tips & Solutions
Re: Language Overrides not working?
« Reply #10 on: December 03, 2013, 02:14:30 am »
I can confirm that the overrides don't work with VM 2.0.24.C when searching by the value.

However, it has worked when searching by the constant.

PROTOCOL DROID - Noobie Web Designer Tips & Solutions
http://shantronix.wordpress.com

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9937
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Language Overrides not working?
« Reply #11 on: December 03, 2013, 10:32:49 am »
Maybe you are looking in the BE language but you must look in FE language or viceversa.

In general we tried to put the languages shown to users into the frontend. But the plugins keep their language in the Backend.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/