Author Topic: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use  (Read 2740 times)

Alberto87

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 28
If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« on: September 09, 2013, 12:56:25 pm »
hello,

i need to change the group of client because we have a special promo,
but when i try to apply a different shopper group and i click "save" the web site redirect me to the administrator page of virtuemart and display the error: Vm Error Name in use

Virtuemart  2.20b
Joomla 2.5.14

I'm worried ...please can you help me?

Sorry for my English..

thanks

Alberto

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 11:00:11 am »
Words 'Name in use' could be found not in VM files, but in Joomla files instead. So this is clearly Joomla issue. You have probably existing name there, right?

Alberto87

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2013, 23:13:41 pm »
Yes, right. But now i deleted the client with the same name and the error appears.

i try to repeat the procedure:  if i go in to client account and i change the shopper group from "default" to "Test group", when i click save, virtuemart send me in the administrator page (with the vendor data) and display: error: name in use, i don't know if there is a problem with the administrator account..is possible?

if you want i can sent you a mail with the screenshot

Alberto

Alberto87

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2013, 10:20:28 am »
Hi to all,

ehm..yes..i looked same problem...i'm the super administrator of the web site and i can't change the group of my client...VmError Name in use always appear..


can someone help me?


hoknight

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2015, 06:43:43 am »
Hi to all,

I have getting this issues too..
Any one help?

Here is version information:
Virtuemark: 2.0.26d
Joomla : 2.5.28
PHP Version: 5.3.29
Database Version: 5.1.58

Thank You

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27457
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2015, 10:46:19 am »
@hoknight this thread is nearly 2 years old, and nobody else has reported this problem until now.  I just tested this with the current VM2 version, which is 2.6.17 and there is no problem when changing shopper group.

Your VirtueMart version is seriously out of date and is known to have critical security issues which could result in the site being hacked, so you should consider updating. If it is a bug that causes your problem with shopper groups then it was probably solved a long time ago. See http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=118683.0
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.4.3.10057 on Joomla 3.9.10 PHP 7.0.33
Testing VM 3.5.0.10097 on Joomla 3.9.10

hoknight

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2015, 10:53:48 am »
Thanks to your information.

We will plan to update the site asap.However,any idea about this issues? We don't make any change on site,but I'm not sure when the problem being on our site.

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27457
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2015, 15:10:28 pm »
No idea, as I have never seen this issue on any of my client sites.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.4.3.10057 on Joomla 3.9.10 PHP 7.0.33
Testing VM 3.5.0.10097 on Joomla 3.9.10

hoknight

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2015, 09:51:32 am »
I just duplicate my site for test.
But the issues has no fix after updated the vm version to 3.0.9
 :'(

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9853
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2015, 12:13:56 pm »
When your db has wrong entries, we cannot solve it. Check your joomla users and your vmusers. the ids are the same. Seems an other user, than your vendor has the same name already, or so.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

hoknight

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2015, 05:09:42 am »
I have no idea about the db wrong entries.I tried to purchase a product on our shop using a new user account for test. I still can't modify the user group on this user account.
Any ways I can modify the user group in db,so we can make an arrangement our customers in difference group,until the issues can be fix?

Thank you

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9853
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2015, 10:01:07 am »
There is no issue. Your explanation is not clear.

When you use as customer an already used loginname, then use another one. I mean, anyone knows the problem that your nick is already taken.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

hoknight

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2015, 10:08:55 am »
Sorry for my poor English.
Now we can't change the shopper group for all of our customer in our shop.Not only the exiting customers,but also new registered user.
And i'm make sure there are no login name is already in used by more then two people.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9853
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #13 on: June 02, 2015, 13:24:22 pm »
by more than ONE !
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

hoknight

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: If i change shopper group : VmError Name in use
« Reply #14 on: June 02, 2015, 13:32:38 pm »
Yes,I mean by more then one.

So,any ways I can modify the user group in db?