Author Topic: Search Resuluts with pictures  (Read 1771 times)

tygo

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Search Resuluts with pictures
« on: August 20, 2013, 14:53:18 pm »
Hello,

is there any option to show product pictures in the search results?

Thanks for help!
tygo

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: Search Resuluts with pictures
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2013, 18:14:12 pm »
Link?

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27605
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Search Resuluts with pictures
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2013, 11:06:30 am »
There is no facility to show inages in the default product search module, although no doubt it could possible done adding extra code and using overrides. To save hours doing that there is a coommercial search module that displays produict images. See http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/extension-specific/virtuemart-extensions/virtuemart-products-search/14457
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.10.10211 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33

Ghost

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 419
Re: Search Resuluts with pictures
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2013, 11:38:55 am »
Need more information.

Doesn't product search results appear like product listing with titles, images, price and short descriptions by default? At least in my sites they do. Are you using Joomla's search or Virtuemart's search?

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27605
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Search Resuluts with pictures
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2013, 12:25:19 pm »
Whoops, yes you are right. It now automatically uses the category layout page. I have not used the VM default search module since VM2 was in beta as I have used an AJAX seach module..

But I just tested on a commercial "VM" template and search does not show the images. I guess due to the template overrides.
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.10.10211 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33

tygo

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Search Resuluts with pictures
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2013, 09:41:43 am »
thanks so far

@ghost: which version do you use at the moment?

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657

tygo

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Search Resuluts with pictures
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2013, 12:53:03 pm »
@ Maxim: Do you want a link? Check http://www.glasfoto.com/ ...

Thanks for help!

tygo

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Search Resuluts with pictures
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2013, 13:49:28 pm »
okay, it works with vm search plugin :)

However, when I enter another search term in the input field of the result page, i get an 404 error, because something with the url doenst work correctly.

What might be the problem?
Thanks for help!

jenkinhill

  • UK Web Developer & Consultant
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 27605
  • Always on vacation
    • Jenkin Hill Internet
Re: Search Resuluts with pictures
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2013, 15:01:06 pm »
Probably a problem with SEF
Kelvyn

Jenkin Hill Internet,
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Unsolicited PMs/emails will be ignored.

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

Currently using VM 3.6.10.10211 on Joomla 3.9.13 PHP 7.0.33

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: Search Resuluts with pictures
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2013, 19:46:31 pm »
Are you sure that you use mod_virtuemart_search?

However, when I enter another search term in the input field of the result page, i get an 404 error, because something with the url doenst work correctly.
What term? What url of your error?