Author Topic: can't choose first generic child variant of the list  (Read 1910 times)

Marlowe_P

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 16
can't choose first generic child variant of the list
« on: August 13, 2013, 17:17:40 pm »
i finally set a 2 level child product cart.

the problem is that i had to create fake child products with property "stock" set to zero (so can't be add to cart)
and also give them ordering=1 (i gave 2,3,4,... to the other real products)
so that the fake products are shown first in the dropdown list.

this is because i noticed that first elements of dropdown list can't be selected!

example: for generic child variant "color" i created child products called "choose a color","black","white","green",... the "choose a color" is shown first in the list so it doesn't matter if it can't be selected when i reach the page where i have to select the color!

is that a usual problem workaround or it can be done in a proper way??? thanks

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: can't choose first generic child variant of the list
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2013, 19:03:18 pm »
The link to issue is welcome.

Marlowe_P

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: can't choose first generic child variant of the list
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2013, 19:36:29 pm »
link to my website? i'm still working local, i can provide screeshots but isn't what i say clear enough?

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: can't choose first generic child variant of the list
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2013, 20:46:21 pm »
yes screen shots could help thnx

Marlowe_P

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: can't choose first generic child variant of the list
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2013, 11:24:21 am »
here you can download screenshots: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4395035/screenshots.rar

the problem is that first options of the list can't be selected, so i had to create fake child products!

i'm still working localhost so can't give access to my site.

i'm uploading a backup online: i'll be able to give you download link soon.

Marlowe_P

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: can't choose first generic child variant of the list
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2013, 13:35:35 pm »

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: can't choose first generic child variant of the list
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2013, 22:07:11 pm »
Why did you use default value for generic child variant? Is it necessary?

I'm not sure that for generic child variant it's necessary to turn on option 'list'.

Marlowe_P

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: can't choose first generic child variant of the list
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2013, 22:48:00 pm »
i watched tutorials on how set up parent/child relationship for products and i saw values written on that field "default" separated by semicolon: where should i write those values? so i should not mark the option "list"? i'll try later. except for the need of fake product i'm testing my workaround solution and it's working fine...

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: can't choose first generic child variant of the list
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2013, 10:44:45 am »
i watched tutorials on how set up parent/child relationship for products and i saw values written on that field "default" separated by semicolon: where should i write those values? so i should not mark the option "list"? i'll try later. except for the need of fake product i'm testing my workaround solution and it's working fine...
Defaults and lists are not necessary. Generic child variant custom field already knows what 'defaults' must be in his 'list'. This custom field just scans own product which as parent has attached specific child products.

Marlowe_P

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: can't choose first generic child variant of the list
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2013, 11:37:53 am »
i see thanks! i edited the custom generic child variant fields : no list, no values on default field, no ontop and everything is working fine as before. it stays the problem i say on the title of this topic: i can't select the first option of the list so i had to create fake child products!

Maxim Pishnyak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2657
Re: can't choose first generic child variant of the list
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2013, 19:25:26 pm »
So you edited it. Maybe you could redo everything from scratch? Check Youtube tutorials in my signature.