News:

Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

VM 2 checkout process complicated, opinions

Started by seanctc, February 12, 2012, 23:54:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jenkinhill

"VM 2.0.3H" is a development version with known bugs.
Kelvyn
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK

Retired from forum life November 2023

Please mention your VirtueMart, Joomla and PHP versions when asking a question in this forum

patrik60

Ok. looking forward for the next official release of VM. In my opinion this one page checkout override is a very good solution!!

anotart

I have been very impressed with the VirtueMart package (2.06 on Joomla 2.5).  I've been quite amazed by all that is built into it and it's functionality -- and the customizations I've been able to make even though I'm a novice to all things web.

However, I've been surprised by the problems I'm having with the checkout.  As the first person stated, it is not intuitive at all the first time you encounter it.  That makes it unusable for a site that mostly has "guest" customers.  I have spent hours trying to find solutions to problems on this forum and have implemented a number of them -- all of which end up giving me different problems.  There are so many options everywhere else in the product and then when I get to checkout (the main reason for the product), I'm stuck.  I'd prefer not adding another extension if I can avoid it.

A couple questions:

1)  Is there something I'm overlooking, or has someone come up with a solution to simplify checkout that really works. 

2)  I saw in the "features" for VM2, that there is a one-page or one-click checkout option -- I haven't found that.  Does anyone know about that?

Here is a link to my store, with the work arounds -- including the current one that doesn't work:

http://www.notarthomas.com/Mary/index.php/2012-05-29-16-05-40/online-store

I don't want anything fancy -- I just need a customer to be able to easily understand how to check out.