News:

Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

Replace product thumbnail with Video button?

Started by feklee, August 20, 2012, 18:33:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

feklee

Is it possible to replace a thumbnail image of a product with a video play button (on mouse-over)?

Videos could be hosted e.g. on Vimeo.

Here is how it may work:

• Default (no mouse over): thumbnail of product
  • On mouse over: play button on top of thumbnail
  • On mouse click: video player pops up (e.g. when clicking on the play button on the Vimeo Pro intro page)
Note that I have no experience with Joomla! or VirtuaMart. However, I am a seasoned programmer, and I do have experience with embedding video in web sites (in the past, via YouTube's JS iframe API).

ivus

Hi feklee,

How seasoned a programmer are you? Joomla and VM both use MVC architecture. Anything you want to change/alter/modify can all be done in the VIEW.

Your question did not mention which page you want your video on? Category Page, Product Detail Page, Shopping Cart? or perhaps one of the modules?

feklee

Quote from: ivus on August 20, 2012, 20:21:31 PM
How seasoned a programmer are you?
I am experienced with the technologies that Joomla! is built upon: PHP, JavaScript, HTML, CSS

Anything you want to change/alter/modify can all be done in the VIEW.
The question is, can this be done without patching VirtueMart? Could I create some kind of module to provide the needed functionality?

Your question did not mention which page you want your video on? Category Page, Product Detail Page, Shopping Cart? or perhaps one of the modules?
It would be nice to have it on the page showing the products in a particular category.

Of course, I am aware that a fallback solution is to add the video to the product description.

Some background: I am asking this for a customer. He would set up Joomla! with VirtueMart, and he asked me for help on this particular issue.

ivus

Hi feklee,