News:

Looking for documentation? Take a look on our wiki

Main Menu

What is the future of VM?

Started by kratzi, August 04, 2012, 19:40:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kratzi

Hi all,

I think I am not the right person to complain as I am just pretty much a total noob when it comes to programing. I am happy that I can handle some CSS and html to design a template and the Virtuemart shop but when it comes to PHP and all this I see my advantages in another place. Therfore I am not really the right person to help people here in this forum so also shouldnt be complaining due to no input.

BUT

Even though I really appreciate people spending their free time in developing open source programs like  Virtuemart I see problems for the future of VM.

For interest I counted the last month of questions (but left today and yesterday out as no one can expect to receive an answer straight away). In "General Questions VM2" approxiamtely 300 questions were asked in the last 30 days and 104 questions had 0 !!zero!! replies. One can asume around 20% of these 300 questions are really easy questions of people who didn't search the forum and asked straight away. In the end one can be happy if 40% of questions are answered and I guess that just 10% of all questions really lead to success of the questioner.

In addition the team of VM wants to earn some money by selling extensions. But how can you try to sell extensions for a product which can not be used as it is not ready. There is a bunch of issues in the front-end which are not solved and every customer would think "!&%$ยง'!" as it is not user friendly. Its a good idea though that they want to earny some money and they should however first finish the core program please.

As I said I am really not the right person to complain and I think VM has great programers however I also think they should sit down with some marketing and business people that have a better understanding of the customers needs.