News:

You may pay someone to create your store, or you visit our seminar and become a professional yourself with the silver certification

Main Menu

Module to display list of products in a category [SOLVED]

Started by sulimo, July 24, 2012, 20:15:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sulimo

Hello everyone
I'm new to virtuemart (and to Joomla).
I would to have a module in order to display products that are in a given category.
How should I do ?
It is possible to do this via the component, but I need to do this via a module.

Thanks for any help !

ivus

Hi sulimo,

VM comes with a pre-packaged module to do that.

> Extensions > Module Manager

Click new and select "VirtueMart Category" from the list . During setup, simply select the category you wish to display in the panel on the right.
It only displays 1 category per module so you may need to create multiple modules.

I hope this helps.

sulimo

Thank you for your answer !
That would help a lot but that particular doesn't appear in the list of module types...
Is it a problem with my installation? What does it mean?

About categories for virtuemart I only have the module to display all the categories. So that is not the one I want...

sulimo

I realize that maybe I didn't express correctly (sorry I'm french...)
What I'm searching for is not a list of categories, but a list of products for a category. But the VirtueMart Category module seems to only display links to categories (or subcategories)

ivus

Hi sulimo,

You're absolutely correct. My mistake, I'm sorry.

I just realised I wrote my own module to do that which probably would be too much for what you need. However you could duplicate the following "mod_virtuemart_product" module and modify it for your needs.

Good luck.

sulimo

Thanks again!
Well I tried to explore the code of the module, but I didn't figure out how I could find products with a category object so I'm stuck there too.