Author Topic: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart  (Read 4275 times)

vigier

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 124
2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« on: June 23, 2012, 18:38:46 pm »
Hi,
I have products where customers can give their own dimensions. For that I added 2 customtextplugins, one for widht and one for height.
When added to the cart, I see a sort of cross-combination of both plugins... See the attachment.
Can this be fixed?
Kind regards, Vigier


[attachment cleanup by admin]

srseale

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2012, 01:28:14 am »
I posted this in the Product Creation thread but it was suggested I add it here...

I am using:

Joomla 2.5.6
VM 2.0.7f
PHP 5.3.14

I set up a Test Product with 4 different custom input text fields.  I put some simple text into each field, as follows

Test Input - 1 = AAA
Test Input - 3 = BBBBB
Text Input - 2 = CCCC
Text Input - 4 = ABCDEFGHIJ

Attached is the result of this input (taken from the Order but the situation is the same in the Cart and Confirmation e-mail).

Effectively, I get all data plus field titles in all fields.  For example, the Test Input - 1 field contains "AAATest Input - 1 BBBBBTest Input - 1 CCCCTest Input - 1 ABCDEFGHIJ".  The Test Input - 2 field contains "AAATest Input - 2 BBBBBTest Input - 2 CCCCTest Input - 2 ABCDEFGHIJ".  Etc.

I have seen a couple of threads that identify various problems with this plugin (from Vigier and others) but I haven't seen a definitive solution.  Has anyone confronted this problem and solved it?

Thank you.

[attachment cleanup by admin]

srseale

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2012, 18:31:25 pm »
Now running Joomla 2.5.6, VM 2.0.8a

The VM - Custom, customer text input plugin still appears to be having the same issue as reported before by Vigier and me.  When entering customer text, all input fields get all data interspersed with the field title.

For example, if you have 2 customer text input custom fields - Input A and Input B, the results are:

Input A text-a Input A text-b
Input B text-a Input B text-b

This is the situation in the Cart and it probably is the same in the Order and Confirmation e-mail, although I haven't checked it yet.

Is anyone aware of another customer text input plugin that is working?  I am willing to try it.

Thank you

vigier

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 124
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2012, 21:29:18 pm »
Me too! I really have to build strange products & combinations to avoid using 2 text plugins and I really don't like it.
It keeps me from going live...

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9919
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2012, 00:06:20 am »
Thank you. I must admit I did not tested it that way. I will take a look
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9919
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2012, 00:14:56 am »
Please try this file, just remove the .txt and overwrite the old in the textinput folder of the textinput plugins folder.

[attachment cleanup by admin]
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

srseale

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2012, 05:13:33 am »
Milbo:

Thank you for the updated "textinput.php" file.  Once I figured out precisely where it actually went, I was able to test it.

This seems to have fixed the issue, at least for me.  I, unfortunately, have picked up another issue (Shipment Method can no longer be selected in 2.0.8a) but I will deal with that in a different area of the Forum.

If I may make 1 suggestion...

If there is no value for a given textinput custom field, the field title should still show (currently, there is a blank line in the list of customfields where that particular field is located).  Here is what I mean:

Current Behavior:

Pulldown Field A - AAA (selected from list)
Textinput Field B - BBB (entered from keyboard)
Pulldown Field C - CCC (selected from list)

Pulldown Field E - EEE (selected from list)

Should be:

Pulldown field A - AAA
Textinput Field B - BBB
Pulldown Field C - CCC
Textinput Field D -
Pulldown Field E - EEE

This way, there can be no confusion on precisely what was entered or not.

Again, thank you for the update.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9919
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2012, 14:22:40 pm »
I would say this is a matter of taste
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

srseale

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2012, 17:32:52 pm »
Milbo:

Agreed, a matter of preference.

Thank you once again for your assistance.  Do we mark this thread Solved?  I presume you will add this change to the core code (or wherever is appropriate) so it won't get overwritten on an upgrade...

Best regards

vigier

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 124
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #9 on: July 03, 2012, 23:23:16 pm »
Please try this file, just remove the .txt and overwrite the old in the textinput folder of the textinput plugins folder.
Milbo, YOU JUST MADE MY DAY!!!  :D

I hope you include this in the next version?

P.S. sorry for using caps
P.S. II: that means it works
P.S. III: I also tried it in combination with some cart variants and it shows really well.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9919
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2012, 01:48:09 am »
Great :-)

Of course it is already in the b version http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=104780.0 .
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

srseale

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #11 on: July 04, 2012, 16:49:33 pm »
Now that we've heard from Vigier, I believe we can mark this issue SOLVED!

Thank you Milbo for your assistance and to all of the VM team who are working hard to fix the relatively few issues still outstanding.  You've all done a great job.

I remain astounded (that is the only appropriate term) by how much of VirtueMart actually works as documented.  I have 40 years of experience in software (for the big computers that are now almost obsolete) and I can say with some authority that Joomla! and VirtueMart work as well as some application systems that in the past cost millions of dollars to purchase, implement and maintain.  Very well done indeed!

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9919
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #12 on: July 04, 2012, 19:34:56 pm »
Would be very cool, when you state this here http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/e-commerce/shopping-cart/129 :-) Awesome!
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

chetanmadaan

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 291
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2012, 03:05:02 am »
Please try this file, just remove the .txt and overwrite the old in the textinput folder of the textinput plugins folder.

Milbo -

i applied the same patch and in my case i don't see the custom fields being added to the cart.... it's just blank.

and after i roll back to my current version of textinput.php (which in default comes with VM 2.0.8e), i still see this problem.

It's kind of running a foreach statement for the textinput plugins... if i have 4 text fields... it's repeating all the fields 4 times... if i have 3 fields... it's all repeating the fields 3 times.

Thanks
Chetan

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9919
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: 2 customtextplugins show up as 4 in cart
« Reply #14 on: September 14, 2012, 17:36:44 pm »
Great :-)

Of course it is already in the b version http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=104780.0 .
The c version is new than the txt file, look at the date. Use the latest version, disable your template overrides http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=78322.0
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/