News:

You may pay someone to create your store, or you visit our seminar and become a professional yourself with the silver certification

Main Menu

Child Products and Custom Fields

Started by kaybee57, June 23, 2012, 02:28:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kaybee57

Woo hoo!! Lots of experimentation and I have finally managed to break through my hurdle of implementing issues relating to Child Products and Custom Fields in Vm 2.0.6 and Joomla 2.5.6.
I am a relative newbie to Joomla but have done lots of work in Drupal so have learnt that trial and error is the only way to learn and get things working, hence this post.
The following items were written down by me as I worked on my own products - the basis of setting things up here works well so I hope this helps others along the way. If you find some glitches along the way or improvements to this, pelase let me know and I will edit this post.
I apologise if there are mistakes (that may have worked for me but not you...). I have created a Numbered list so you will know what 'number' you are up to, not which dot point!
FIRST - CREATE CUSTOM FIELDS for SIZE, COLOUR VARIATION ETC. Think of all those fields your product/s may or may not have - your size field as per this example can have a full list of all sort eg xs, s, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, one size, 22 etc.... - Each of your Child products you will be able to select which sizes are for that product only)

• Under Products (not under a parent product), Select "Custom Fields"
  • Select "New" and a Custom Field Type of "Plug-In"
  • Enter a Title as eg "Please Select a Size" (This will show above your options when displaying)
  • Change Cart Attribute to "Yes"
  • Select "select a Plug-In" as "VM - Custom, Stockable Variants"
  • Option Name: "Sizes Available" - will show as well as the "Please Select a Size" words above - this field DOES need to be entered or variants will not show through - then list all your various options you want to make available to this variant