Author Topic: disable update button ?????  (Read 3301 times)

davidb34ni

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 40
disable update button ?????
« on: June 04, 2012, 11:20:43 am »
how does one go about in removing the update button all together I have done some modificatins to the core of vm which I dont want my customers overwritting im usual version 2.0 and 2.04 and 2.06 so if someone can guide me as to how to remove the update facility thanks

rustle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Mad love for the VM project
    • Independent Development
Re: disable update button ?????
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2012, 03:03:08 am »
I am also looking to have this functionality disabled, as my client has a number o employees logged in to the back end of VM and he does not want the update feature available for all to see.

@davidb34ni
I am currently looking through the backend to see if I can apply the display:none css command to the <span class="liveupdate-icon-updates">

I will report back with any news

adriespo

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • Adriano Esposito
  • Skype Name: adriano.esposito
Re: disable update button ?????
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2012, 09:34:55 am »
Hi, no news? I am also searching for...

adriespo

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • Adriano Esposito
  • Skype Name: adriano.esposito
Re: disable update button ?????
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2012, 10:12:09 am »
OK, I managed in this way:

In the file:

/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/liveupdate/liveupdate.php

I commented the row:

$updateInfo = self::getUpdateInformation();

So, the condition's check

if(!$updateInfo->supported) {

Get "true"... And the update seems as "not supported"

(This is in version 2.0.8e)

hollywooood

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • If everything was easy it woud be frickin awesome!
Re: disable update button ?????
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2012, 05:45:20 am »
You may want to disable the link altogether since someone might click on it to "see what happens" and they will be redirected to the "Live Update Page" with the "Update to the latest version" link at the bottom. 

I did this to avoid that go back to the liveupdate.php page and change:

Code: [Select]
return '<div class="icon"><a href="'.$url.'">'.
'<div><img src="'.$img.'" width="32" height="32" border="0" align="middle" style="float: none" /></div>'.
'<span class="'.$class.'">'.$lbl.'</span></a></div>';


To this:

Code: [Select]
return '<div class="icon"><a href="'#'">'.
'<div><img src="'.$img.'" width="32" height="32" border="0" align="middle" style="float: none" /></div>'.
'<span class="'.$class.'">'.$lbl.'</span></a></div>';
Joomla 2.5.4
Virtuemart 2.0.6
PHP 5.2.17
MySQL 5.5.21-55
APACHE 2.2.22

nhamhongtien

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: disable update button ?????
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2013, 09:00:40 am »
OK, I managed in this way:

In the file:

/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/liveupdate/liveupdate.php

I commented the row:

$updateInfo = self::getUpdateInformation();

So, the condition's check

if(!$updateInfo->supported) {

Get "true"... And the update seems as "not supported"

(This is in version 2.0.8e)

Thank you!

It slowed my backend site.

dorex

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • VirtueMart Version: 2.0.16
Re: disable update button ?????
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2013, 08:39:53 am »
It didn't work for me the way you said (adriespo and hollywooood). But I managed it some other way, easier, I think ...
Here it is:

open the file: /administrator/components/com_virtuemart/liveupdate/liveupdate.php

 find this block:
Code: [Select]
return '<div class="icon"><a href="'.$url.'">'.
'<div><img src="'.$img.'" width="32" height="32" border="0" align="middle" style="float: none" /></div>'.
'<span class="'.$class.'">'.$lbl.'</span></a></div>';
and in the first line change the "icon" class to "stopupdateicon" like this:
Code: [Select]
return '<div class="stopupdateicon"><a href="'.$url.'">'.
'<div><img src="'.$img.'" width="32" height="32" border="0" align="middle" style="float: none" /></div>'.
'<span class="'.$class.'">'.$lbl.'</span></a></div>';
Save and close the file (of course you should upload it back if you have worked on your local computer.

Now, in the back-end of your Joomla site, go to :
Extensions/Template Manager/Templates/"Bluestork Details and Files" (or another template if you are using another template for your backend)

and open the file "template.css"

At the bottom of it just add this line:
Code: [Select]
.stopupdateicon { display:none; }

That's it!
PHP 5.2.17 - Joomla 2.5.8 - Virtuemart 2.0.16