Author Topic: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin  (Read 129682 times)

OpenGlobal

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 316
    • OpenGlobal E-commerce Web Design in Gloucester
What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« on: May 24, 2012, 14:36:59 pm »
Can we come to a consensus about the most important bugs in this plugin that need to be fixed. I'm going to put a bit of time into getting some of the bugs fixed and putting these bug fixes to the admins because development on this plugin has stopped.

What should get fixed first?

OpenGlobal

mowgs

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2012, 15:23:13 pm »
Will come up with  a list of things that would help current clients - I'll be honest I'd given up on the Stockable Variants and have been concentrating on getting Generic Child Variants to work as there didnt seem to be any movement towards getting them sorted. 

If you do get it working you'll be a hero!

Mowgs

vanekmichal

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2012, 16:01:39 pm »
Hello,

I have big problem with duplication of items list.
problem is described here:

"I have problem with "custom stockable variant".
Some positions are double >>>> http://gh589200.agy.hostime.cz/index.php/letaky

Picture:
 1 - 2. plugin setting
 3 - 4. parent + parent detail
 5. my problem

http://gh589200.agy.hostime.cz/images/virtuemart/1.jpg
http://gh589200.agy.hostime.cz/images/virtuemart/2.jpg
http://gh589200.agy.hostime.cz/images/virtuemart/3.jpg
http://gh589200.agy.hostime.cz/images/virtuemart/4.jpg
http://gh589200.agy.hostime.cz/images/virtuemart/5.jpg

I think the problem is only in generating the menu.
But I can not find it.

Thanks for the advice"

I think the problem with sorting is also important.

Thank you


mowgs

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2012, 16:10:41 pm »
First off -

Trying to set up a simple pair of knickers.

1 Stockable Variants Plugin, 2 fields (Size and Colour)

14 Children (7 Sizes, 2 colours)

When setting up the variants, there doesn't seem to be any way of re-ordering the sizes/colours, i.e. size list reads 14,16,12,10,20,8,18.  These were actually added in order, but decided to re-order themselves on saving!

Also have set one size as out of stock.  This Size is still orderable.

When adding to Basket, all products show the SKU and Product Name as ...White Size 20, no matter what size or colour is selected.

Im sure there'll be more!


Using VM 2.0.6 on Joomla 2.5.4

OpenGlobal

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 316
    • OpenGlobal E-commerce Web Design in Gloucester
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2012, 19:51:21 pm »
vanekmichal,

I can see what's causing the problem you're seeing here. The javascript is useless :-)

When you select something from the 2nd dropdown (90/135), it populates the 3rd dropdown. It does this by going through all of the data looking for child products which match the 2nd dropdown. It doesn't do the essential check that the it also matches the 1st dropdown. So the 3rd dropdown gets populated with the data for A4 AND A5.

I shall add this to my bug list.

Thanks

OpenGlobal

dsrpmedia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 332
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2012, 02:40:50 am »
does not work at all on sites hosted on Godaddy, and several other hosts

mowgs

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2012, 20:59:19 pm »
Also, when a selection is made, the parent details are still shown -

i.e. in my scenario, if the parent has the image for a white item, and its black variant has images to show it is black, then these should be shown if a customer chooses black in the drop down list.

(this is one of the parts of the generic child variant that works properly :)  )


OpenGlobal

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 316
    • OpenGlobal E-commerce Web Design in Gloucester
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2012, 00:25:28 am »
I think that might be beyond the scope of this plugin, where the child products are just placeholders and none of the information is used (except name and SKU).

OpenGlobal

mowgs

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2012, 13:28:38 pm »
Aaah, OK, will have to rethink that :)

dsrpmedia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 332
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2012, 18:16:08 pm »
Quote
i.e. in my scenario, if the parent has the image for a white item, and its black variant has images to show it is black, then these should be shown if a customer chooses black in the drop down list.

now I`m confused - I thought that was the point of the custom variant plugin - to show the variations between parent & child?

OpenGlobal

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 316
    • OpenGlobal E-commerce Web Design in Gloucester
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2012, 12:47:23 pm »
From my understanding, it's just the stock control for variations.

OpenGlobal

dsrpmedia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 332
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2012, 19:05:36 pm »
what if you don `t need the stock control, but need the variations? (eg images for color, size. etc to load when dropdown is selected )

OpenGlobal

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 316
    • OpenGlobal E-commerce Web Design in Gloucester
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2012, 19:07:28 pm »
Then I guess you'd use another type of custom field.

OpenGlobal

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9853
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2012, 22:28:37 pm »
Just be aware,

the both customs "dynamic child variants" and the the plugin "stockable variants" are very similar.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

dsrpmedia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 332
Re: What bugs do you know of in stockable variants plugin
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2012, 22:42:44 pm »
 
Just be aware,

the both customs "dynamic child variants" and the the plugin "stockable variants" are very similar.

ok so perhaps it is the "dynamic child variants" I am looking to use