News:

Support the VirtueMart project and become a member

Main Menu

SAFE PATH IN DIRECTORY

Started by burtonent, May 17, 2012, 03:29:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

burtonent

I've read everything I can find on creating a directory for the safe path and the invoices folder as a sub directory, but I'm a novice and don't understand where the safe path is supposed to be created. I pulled up configuration.php in root and it has both the log and tmp files mentioned in Mr. Hill's post about the topic;

To do this, first create a directory for downloadable files, even if you do not sell downloads. This directory is best placed outside your Joomla root for security, when this is not possible give it some obscure unguessable name, such as wgettyty. Within this create a subdirectory called invoices. Which file do I create it in?, configuration.php?  _com_virtuemart? 

Then; in VM Configuration/Templates/Media File Settings against "Safe path " (shown as "Path for Sale" in VM 2.0.2) enter the full server path to your download directory. Do not use a relative path, it will not work. Is this in the back end of joomla of the FTP file manager?

Then it says; If you don't know the server path look in Joomla 2.5 System Information/Configuration File where the path is shown for tmp_path and for log_path. Just substitute your new directory name got logs or tmp.  Substitute new dorectory name got logs or tmp?