Author Topic: Cart variant required message  (Read 3010 times)

james1212

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Cart variant required message
« on: April 23, 2012, 12:14:47 pm »
Hello, I'm just upgrading to VM 2.0 and have nearly figured out Custom Fields and Cart Variants. The thing I can't find, which existed in VM 1 is the "Please select product variant to add this product to your cart" message. I need to make sure that people enter required info before being allowed to add products to the cart - does this function still exist?
Thanks,
James

Genius WebDesign

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 175
    • Genius WebDesign
Re: Cart variant required message
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2012, 14:29:28 pm »
Looking for the same thing.. A bit concerning that noone answered this yet.
If this "feature" was present in v.1.xxx  it should also be there in v.2.xxx, at least I would think so.

I cannot imagine any reason why they would exclude a basic feature like this..

Devs, please answer this one
 



Zer0g

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Cart variant required message
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2012, 13:41:32 pm »
I am looking for the same thing, too...

It would be a very important feature.

Milbo

  • Virtuemart Projectleader
  • Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 9972
  • VM3.2 Cached and Optimized
    • VM3 Extensions
  • VirtueMart Version: VirtueMart 3 on joomla 3
Re: Cart variant required message
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2012, 14:49:03 pm »
We are just working on this stuff.
I should fix your bug, please support the VirtueMart project and become a member
______________________________________
Extensions approved by the core team: http://extensions.virtuemart.net/

Zer0g

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Cart variant required message
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2012, 15:02:39 pm »
Thank you for your reply Milbo.

Can you give us a date, when it should be ready?

Genius WebDesign

  • 3rd party VirtueMart Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 175
    • Genius WebDesign
Re: Cart variant required message
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2012, 22:02:10 pm »
Thanks to some very thorough investigation and searching on this forum I finally managed to hack my way to success.
I now have my products with a custom field child variant drop down, where the first choise is "please choose" and if the customer tries to add to the cart a modal popup warns the customer that he/she has to make a variant choise.. And the product is not added to the cart:)

I also made some other tweaks like showing the internal note text of the product variants as description in the drop-down menu, and changing the "Continue shopping" link to   href="javascript:history.go(0)"

Read this thread:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=100172.0


dsrpmedia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 332
Re: Cart variant required message
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2012, 00:04:10 am »
Quote
I also made some other tweaks like showing the internal note text of the product variants as description in the drop-down menu, and I also made some other tweaks like showing the internal note text of the product variants as description in the drop-down menu, and changing the "Continue shopping" link to   href="javascript:history.go(0)""

I`ve got the please choose pop-up working - but I can`t find where the instructions for changing the "Continue shopping" link to   href="javascript:history.go(0)" are - could you please point the way?

dsrpmedia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 332
Re: Cart variant required message
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2012, 00:30:09 am »
lol - please ignore previous post - that was stoopid easy - just change the href="' . $continue_link . '" to href="javascript:history.go(0)"

Zer0g

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Cart variant required message
« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2012, 19:14:59 pm »
Does anybody know if this works with attributes only?
I do not use child variants on my shop, but i require them to choose between the different attributes...

darien81

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Cart variant required message
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2012, 17:27:29 pm »
I am also looking for a solution for an attribute only (not child product variant) solution. I am willing to pay to have this done now rather than wait for it to be solved in a later version.

Can anyone help?