Author Topic: Changing the Default Product Details Page  (Read 3322 times)

veryjerry

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Changing the Default Product Details Page
« on: April 12, 2012, 07:06:13 am »
Running VM 2.0.2 Joomla 2.5.4

So I want to create multiple Product Details Pages. (And Category Layout's)

I found the default.php in the productdetails > tmpl and edited to have a decent styling for my default usage.

However now I want to create different product details pages for different categories. I took the default.php duplicated it and renamed it amazon_details.php for a sample category.
When i try to assign it in the category area I can see it in the Default Product Details Page dropdown and I CAN assign it, however the Product Details page doesn't refresh with the new settings.

I tried to clear overrides in the Templates > Product layout area in the event that a Globally defined one would some how affect the PER Category settings but it doesn't work.

I am not sure if there is something I am missing here.

I have looked over the forums a lot trying to find an answer to this but have been unable to find a topic. Sorry if it is out there and I missed it.

Thanks in advance for any help in regards to this.

adrianpaun

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Changing the Default Product Details Page
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 12:45:30 pm »
rename it in default_amazon.php, default_discount.php, etc.

veryjerry

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Changing the Default Product Details Page
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2012, 18:57:33 pm »
I have renamed it default_amazon.php and tried other variations of it default_test.php but none of them work.

Flexes

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • mdma
Re: Changing the Default Product Details Page
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2012, 15:30:14 pm »
Write me a PM, I'll try to help.
mdma evil!
I teach English

CE WebDesign München

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 112
  • CE WebDesign München
    • CE WebDesign München
Re: Changing the Default Product Details Page
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2012, 20:24:23 pm »
'default2.php' worked for me! (j2.5.4, vm2.0.6)

all names with - or _ failed...

hard to figure out ;)
a tool tip would be great there...

Feature list:
    template handling
           -   different product display pages per category/product
CE WebDesign München: https://ce-webdesign.de | Websites, eCommerce WebShops | Responsive Design | SEO

dragonita

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • Proyectos web & comunicación & imagen digital
Re: Changing the Default Product Details Page
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2012, 15:06:35 pm »
'default2.php' worked for me! (j2.5.4, vm2.0.6)

all names with - or _ failed...

hard to figure out ;)
a tool tip would be great there...

Feature list:
    template handling
           -   different product display pages per category/product

gogo123!!! Thanks!!  :-* you just save my brain..... it was already burning because I used _ on my custom files and yes it´s not working with it. Just get rid of the _ and everything back to normal.... well after expending time in changing all the settings to the new names.... everytime I have to update VM I get sick.... ???
Iguess this should be reported as a bug!! ::)
Technology is a mystery that we want to solve for your, take action: contact dragonita.com