VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Virtuemart Development and bug reports => Topic started by: Elnino on November 17, 2011, 19:41:25 pm

Title: Images management - same pictures for different products
Post by: Elnino on November 17, 2011, 19:41:25 pm
I'm running J1.7.3 with VM 2.0.0-RC-2M

I've created a product. I've uploaded one picture for this product and then then generated Used url is:

images/stories/virtuemart/product/bolsetcadeau.jpg

The Used thumb url is:
images/stories/virtuemart/product/resized/bolsetcadeau_160x160.jpg

I've copy pasted these paths into the same fields in another product because I wanted to use the same images. Unfortenately these paths are not saved when I hit the Save button. I assumed it is because these fields are just for information only and are not usable the way I intended to use them.

My only option was to reupload the same image on the server but it creates another file on the server + another thumb which is not super efficient in term of performance and storage optimization. Am I missing something? How to use the same images for different products without recreating new files on the server?

Thanks for your help and your still hard work!


Title: Re: Images management - same pictures for different products
Post by: PRO on November 17, 2011, 19:46:33 pm
have you tried to paste the url in the filter images box? and select the pic?
Worked for me
Title: Re: Images management - same pictures for different products
Post by: Elnino on November 17, 2011, 20:23:12 pm
Yup thks BT.p it helps! Was not super intuitive for me to use this filter field.

Now I've got two other problems, the first one has already been posted in another topic but apparently hasn't been fixed:

http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=92506.msg304238#msg304238 (http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=92506.msg304238#msg304238)


Cheers!
Title: Re: Images management - same pictures for different products
Post by: PRO on November 17, 2011, 21:09:56 pm
to change the thumbnails sizes to larger ones.

EMPTY the resized folder.

THEN, change to 160 x 160 and config. Make sure dynamic thumbs are turned one. Then, it will create them.
Title: Re: Images management - same pictures for different products
Post by: Elnino on November 17, 2011, 22:03:04 pm
Thank for your reply but I think you did not quite get my message. The problem is not to resize the thumbnail. This works well. The problem is that resized thumbnail do not fit the thumbnail image box in the admin section because this one has a fixed size (120 x 120 in the admin.style.css).

The problem with the Publish file ticking box still stands as well.
Title: [Solved] Images management - same pictures for different products
Post by: Cleanshooter on November 18, 2011, 21:34:01 pm
This has been addressed in the latest SVN but it may change again in the future...