VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Virtuemart Development and bug reports => Topic started by: jeorcal on October 02, 2011, 14:01:10 pm

Title: Re: Sync Media
Post by: jeorcal on October 02, 2011, 14:01:10 pm
but where do you select the old database ?  there not a single field for settings ?

where is it explained ?
Title: Re: Re: Sync Media
Post by: jjk on October 02, 2011, 14:46:26 pm
but where do you select the old database ?  there not a single field for settings?...

That's two different stories. If you want to migrate data and images from the old tables into the new VM2 tables, use 'Tools & Migration' - 'Migration* tab.
Use 'Sync Media' if you want to synchronize already existing image files, which are located in the image directories specified in VM2 'Configuration' - 'Templates' - 'Media File Settings' (that's where the image paths are being set in the latest VM2 SVN version), so that VirtueMart 2 recognizes images which you copied or migrated into these image directories.
Title: Re: Re: Sync Media
Post by: jeorcal on October 03, 2011, 18:07:54 pm
That's two different stories. If you want to migrate data and images from the old tables into the new VM2 tables, use 'Tools & Migration' - 'Migration* tab.
there is nothing in thre migration tab to choose a database
Title: Re: Sync Media
Post by: jjk on October 03, 2011, 20:35:23 pm
What do you want to migrate - your VM1.1.x data or just your images?
I suppose this will help to understand how it works: http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/wiki/Upgrading_VM1_to_VM2_with_provided_packages (http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/wiki/Upgrading_VM1_to_VM2_with_provided_packages)