VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Installation, Migration & Upgrade => Topic started by: jeorcal on October 02, 2011, 13:59:19 pm

Title: migration how ?
Post by: jeorcal on October 02, 2011, 13:59:19 pm
there is a tool for migration but nothing is explained, how can i select my old database to insert the products ?

I get Invalid Token, in portMedia
Title: Re: migration how ?
Post by: jjk on October 02, 2011, 18:49:53 pm
Perhaps this helps a little bit: http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/wiki/Upgrading_VM1_to_VM2_with_provided_packages (http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/wiki/Upgrading_VM1_to_VM2_with_provided_packages)
Title: Re: migration how ?
Post by: jeorcal on October 03, 2011, 14:49:05 pm
thank you
Title: Re: migration how ?
Post by: kacper1972 on October 29, 2011, 18:02:28 pm
Hello,

I thing, this movie help You to migrate Virtuemart form version 1 do version 2. This movie is with English subtitels. You can dowland subitetls and corect it or translate it on your language.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W5utvww9DLQ (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W5utvww9DLQ)

You can dowland movie and subtitels, from this adres:

subtitels:
http://videoporady.com.pl/component/jdownloads/summary/5-joomla-and-virtuemart-migration-do-newest-version/4-migrationvm.html?Itemid=101 (http://videoporady.com.pl/component/jdownloads/summary/5-joomla-and-virtuemart-migration-do-newest-version/4-migrationvm.html?Itemid=101)
movie:
http://videoporady.com.pl/component/jdownloads/summary/5-joomla-and-virtuemart-migration-do-newest-version/5-migrationvm.html?Itemid=101 (http://videoporady.com.pl/component/jdownloads/summary/5-joomla-and-virtuemart-migration-do-newest-version/5-migrationvm.html?Itemid=101)

Good Luck

Jarek
 
Title: Re: migration how ?
Post by: iamalive on November 12, 2011, 11:56:17 am
Brilliant! Great work Jarek!
Title: Re: migration how ?
Post by: nobynobs on November 25, 2011, 22:33:31 pm
OK, this is all a kind of an upgrade process, which is quite feasible.
What I'd need to do is:
2 different VM 1 shops migration of user data into one completely new VM 2 shop - which is not updated from an old version, but a completely new installation.

I already managed to sort out the appropriate tables in my DB manually, but there is still an issue that does not show the users in VM.
Any suggestions of an automated tool, like a kind of a "bridge" or something?
That would be extremely helpful.

It would be helpful to have a general export-import feature of the user/shopper data for VM anyway.

Thanks for your help!



EDIT:
Solved. It's possible to match the tables manually in the database (needs some knowledge). However, you'd better backup first. Made a little mistake during the table matching, that's why I failed first. Now everything's fine.
Maybe someone writes a nice tool one day that does things like that quick and easy - it's just a brige necessary. Unfortunately I don't have any time to do so myself.
Title: Re: migration how ?
Post by: Milbo on November 26, 2011, 00:47:55 am
You can also just import all _vm_ tables of vm1 shop 1
migrate in vm2, then delete them and import the _vm_ tables of shop2 and migrate again.