VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Security (https) / Performance / SEO, SEF, URLs => Topic started by: franzpeter on July 15, 2011, 10:34:07 am

Title: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: franzpeter on July 15, 2011, 10:34:07 am
First of all thanks to the developers. VM 2.1 will be an amazing shopping cart component. Did install it on my localhost without any problem and I am truly impressed.
VM 2.1 will allow a lot of flexibility and integrates very well into Joomla. The idea to allow to create different menu entries (like categories, cart a.s.o) provides a lot of flexibility, especially together with the Joomla modules, no hacks or metamods to display or hide something together with virtuemart, high flexibility in displaying product price a.s.o..

There remains one question: the SEF router. Will it be possible in the final release to create better URL. Now, with SEF router, Virtuemart RCA 2 creates url like: yourwebsite/component/virtuemart/hand_tools/Hand-Shovel.html. Will it be possible with the final release to have that thing a little bit shorter like: yourwebsite/hand_tools/Hand_Shovel.html (without /virtuemart/component/...)?

If I create a menu link (virtuemart default layout), I get rid of the /component/ but not off the /virtuemart/ (or shop).
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: Studio 42 on July 16, 2011, 15:23:03 pm
HI franzpeter,
The router work as you mean
If you see component/virtuemart then you don't have set a menu for the option(as all joomla componant).
You can do link to category porduct or whatever.
If you don't want set all the link, you can simple do a link to the Main Shop View.
eg. You set Myshop as main shop then all your route must begi with Mysite.com/Myshop

BYe ;)
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: franzpeter on July 17, 2011, 17:42:32 pm
Hi electrocity,

and what, if I do not want to have Mysite.com/Myshop. Instead I would directly start with the categories. Say I have tree categories: Hand Tools, Garden Tools, Power Tools. So the url should look like: Mysite.com/hand-tools.html, Mysite.com/garden-tools.html, Mysite.com/power-tools.html (and not Mysite.com/Myshop/garden-tools.html, Mysite.com/Myshop/power-tools.html a.s.o.).?
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: Milbo on July 17, 2011, 18:00:01 pm
Hmmm download it,...

add a config setting to the the right panel and change the line in the router. :-)
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: Studio 42 on August 10, 2011, 16:09:55 pm
YOu can add categories link in the joomla menu.
then you have mysite/powertools ...
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: PRO on August 31, 2011, 16:00:59 pm
If you create a default virtuemart link to vmart. ALL the categories will have the default alias BEFORE the category.

BUT: if you create a menu link to EVERY category the /shop alias is not in the url
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: cas on October 21, 2011, 22:53:32 pm
Hi,

I don't understand why I need to build separate menu items to all the categories & subcategories to remove the 'category/virtuemart' from the url.  I use the menu component 'VM Categories Layout' in the component area, and the 'VM Category Module' in the sidebar area to link to the categories and products.  With these two existing VM access methods, why would we want to build separate menu items for all the categories?  I'm confused.  Shouldn't VM handle the URL properly when using the VM access methods?   If you want to see the site, here's the link: http://www.designerfurniturecenter.com

Thanks,
Chuck   
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: PRO on October 22, 2011, 00:40:18 am
Try the default layout. That should get rid of most of it. It should just leave the alias the main linkto vmart
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: cas on October 22, 2011, 03:23:13 am
I fixed the URL problem by switching the main menu type from 'VirtueMart Categories Layout' to 'VirtueMart Default Layout'.  Thanks!

Now the only question is the URL when in the shopping cart... should it be: www.mysite.com/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&view=cart
or is there a way to simplify that URL?
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: PRO on October 22, 2011, 14:24:04 pm
what you mean? sef is turned on, but it still shows like that?
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: cas on October 22, 2011, 19:04:09 pm
When I checked it today, now the url is fine.  It must have been something in cache or some other temporary fluke.  The good news is all is fine.

I do have a question... now that I switched the menu type to use the 'VirtueMart Default Layout' to fix the url, the page is now showing 4 sections: Categories (which I want), but it's also showing Featured Products, Latest Products, & Topten Products, which I don't want.  How can I turn off the display of Featured Products, Latest Products, & Topten Products?  If I switch back to the menu type 'VirtueMart Categories Layout' to only see the categories, then the url looks bad.   You can see the page here: http://www.designerfurniturecenter.com/furniture

Thanks,
Chuck
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: PRO on October 22, 2011, 21:23:47 pm
create a layout override and remove the code
http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/wiki/Hints_for_the_use_of_the_template_system

http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=90935.0
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: cas on October 22, 2011, 21:41:44 pm
Thanks Banquet Tables Pro.   I can do that as a temporary fix, but shouldn't the menu type 'VirtueMart Categories Layout' be fix to have a clean URL?
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: PRO on October 22, 2011, 21:44:14 pm
is there a config in the backend of number of features products to show?

YOU could move the main shop component menu item to a hidden menu.

THEN, create a new one to categories

BUT, you should change the alias to reflect what you want in the url
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: cas on October 22, 2011, 23:25:19 pm
Good news!  I found in the VM admin on the Template tab in the VirtueMart Home Page Settings, we can turn on/off the display of the Featured Products, Latest Products, Recent Products & Top ten Products.  It works like a charm!  Thanks VM team! :)

Chuck
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: Lorian on January 20, 2012, 16:07:14 pm
Hi

If you want to remove or replace /virtuemart/component/  do not touch Virtuemart router/
You need to watch router Joomla in the lines 344-347 and 194-198
 ;)

Good luck.
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: PRO on January 20, 2012, 17:54:30 pm
lol, no need to hack the core, just create a joomla menu link to the default layout ( and choose default in your vmart config)
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: Lorian on January 21, 2012, 15:50:46 pm
You're right, but not all happy with the easy way. ;D
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: iCon on February 02, 2012, 17:35:48 pm
Hi,

My English is not good do not understand exactly what is required. not what makes a simple expression. This is why it could not figure out my problem. Voluntary expression of a friend can make software? Thank you in advance.

I component / virtuemart to want to get rid of.
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: PRO on February 02, 2012, 17:41:31 pm
Hi,

My English is not good do not understand exactly what is required. not what makes a simple expression. This is why it could not figure out my problem. Voluntary expression of a friend can make software? Thank you in advance.

I component / virtuemart to want to get rid of.

Create Joomla Menu Item to Virtuemart
Choose "default Layout"

Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: iCon on February 02, 2012, 17:55:53 pm
thank you.
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: BaidareW on July 12, 2012, 13:10:44 pm
I set in menu link to "default virtuemart layout" but clicking on product I still have mydoimain.com/menuname/product

How to get rid of this menuname in address ?
Title: Re: VM 1.9.8.RCA 2 and sef router
Post by: freshfranky on August 28, 2012, 21:35:33 pm
Ok. First of all. Thanks to Virtuemart for the great tool and to all of you for this blog.

But once for all to be clear. The URLs of Virtuemart are one huge disaster. And specialy, that this is so important to have nice SEF for google, this is a pain in the ...

I'm struggeling with the url's since a month now. I get the URL of my homepage ok. But I just want the categories to be directly after the homepage's url like www.gpsvision.ch/'category'

And then I want all Product to be in one single category 'all products' so the product should be in the following url www.gpsvision.ch/all-products/'product name'-detail

Im so waisted with this issue. What do I have to do. Why can't I just set the URL to every category and ever product myself, would be so much easier. I have hundreds of duplicated contents actually.