VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 1.1.x [ Old version - no longer supported ] => Themes & Layout Problems and Customization VM 1.1 => Topic started by: vmarte on October 09, 2010, 14:06:59 pm

Title: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: vmarte on October 09, 2010, 14:06:59 pm
hey
searched with firebug for hours  :-\
but not found the doc about  browse_listtable.tpl.php  table and cells dimensions and layot code  :(

need to modify table cells dimensions and layout of the page : products list (1 product per raw)

anybody know somenthing ?  ???
thanks in advance
vmarte

Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: PRO on October 09, 2010, 14:17:32 pm
templates/browse/includes
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: vmarte on October 09, 2010, 14:58:48 pm
hey thanks for post
but in thne browse_listable..........
i cannot found code about dimensions and layout of table cells

templates/browse/includes
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: Jörgen on October 09, 2010, 15:17:04 pm
You will find that in the browse page that You are using.

It will be found under:
templates/browse


regards

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: vmarte on October 09, 2010, 16:57:20 pm
do you mean
if i set browse_1 
the table and cells code is in that doc?
thanks
vmarte

You will find that in the browse page that You are using.

It will be found under:
templates/browse


regards

Jörgen @ Kreativ Fotografi

Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: PRO on October 09, 2010, 18:04:17 pm
vmarte you can set the container's css via theme.css

Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: vmarte on October 09, 2010, 21:36:30 pm
many thanks for post !
..hmmm just checked the css .....
but i go to  recheck it and let you know !
......for case do you know the "raw"  ?
thanks in advance!

vmarte you can set the container's css via theme.css


Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: PRO on October 09, 2010, 22:34:30 pm
i dont know what a raw is
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: vmarte on October 09, 2010, 22:56:39 pm
Thanks "Hero" ,
...i'm checking ... ;)
... hope to get it out and "smack it on the wall"..... (I'm starting to hate it ...a bit  >:( )
;-I

i dont know what a raw is
i dont know what a raw is
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: vmarte on October 10, 2010, 14:24:38 pm
hey "Hero" Unfortunately ..... theme.css don't change nothing
to the product list page layout[ if 1 product per raw is selected ,
virtue marts theme.css contain many parameters and it can be "hacked" ,
i seen exchanges if other options are selected
for the product list page layout (....like : div no table ...)

Firebug found a "relationship" between sectiontableentry 1 , sectiontableentry 2 and the cells that contain product title , image ,product description,add to cart,etcc.....
but don't show other info about where the dimensions and the layout  code are located ,

please anybody know :
how hack the dimension and layout of  table cells when 1 product per raw is selected - table ?

thanks in advance
Vmarte

[/quote]
i dont know what a raw is
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: mwenz on October 10, 2010, 16:00:52 pm
Ah, RAW = ROW?

I believe the CSS file controling the browse page itself is the style.css that is located under the browse theme folder. I am not using the VM default theme, so in my case, the path to my browse CSS file looks like this on my locahost:

...\Joomla_Source\components\com_virtuemart\themes
yagendoo_showroom_theme\css\browsepage_themes\browsepage_showroom\style.css

However, there is code in the main theme.css file that controls aspects of the overall page layout that affects the browse page I am using.

Take care, Mike
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: vmarte on October 10, 2010, 17:36:36 pm
Thanks "Hero"  
unfortunately no : style.css file in my directoryes
my setup is joomla1,5 + virtuemart 1.1.4 and a free template ....
the template.css include only some raw-row of code about table cells
that code it's about cells pad nothing other....

my directory look in this way : joomla.... components/com_virtuemart/themes/default/
and inside default folder only a css file : theme.css (just checked)

check attached picture , ...... any info about it's wellcome
thanks in advance
vmarte


Ah, RAW = ROW?

I believe the CSS file controling the browse page itself is the style.css that is located under the browse theme folder. I am not using the VM default theme, so in my case, the path to my browse CSS file looks like this on my locahost:

...\Joomla_Source\components\com_virtuemart\themes
yagendoo_showroom_theme\css\browsepage_themes\browsepage_showroom\style.css

However, there is code in the main theme.css file that controls aspects of the overall page layout that affects the browse page I am using.

Take care, Mike

[attachment cleanup by admin]
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: mwenz on October 10, 2010, 17:52:26 pm
In looking at the default theme files, all the browse_listtable file does is declare that it will build the table itself. All element styling appears to be done in the theme.css file as mentioned above.

What precisely are you wanting to do in way of altering the styling?

Take care, Mike
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: vmarte on October 10, 2010, 20:48:20 pm
hey "Mwenz"
thanks for post !
as i said to "hero" in the theme.css there is some row code about browsepage layout
but it don't modify the layout when you set "1 product per row" (table) in the virtuemart admin side,  :-[

I checked with other layout option like "div no table" , but (for example): if you don't have all products
with "price published" active , the layout of single product that don't have price ,don't respect the cells order layout defined in the theme.css , and it appear so "bad" and confused .... ,
if you set "1 product pper row"  the layout remain as others and replace the price with the default phrase "call for price" ......... then work ok ,
but i need to set a table with different layout
as in the picture attached.

any help is wellcome   :(
thanks in advance!
vmarte


 
In looking at the default theme files, all the browse_listtable file does is declare that it will build the table itself. All element styling appears to be done in the theme.css file as mentioned above.

What precisely are you wanting to do in way of altering the styling?

Take care, Mike

[attachment cleanup by admin]
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: mwenz on October 10, 2010, 21:26:50 pm
Thanks for the graphic--a picture is worth a lot of words.

Unless the default theme has such a layout you could then manipulate, you are going to need to copy the default theme to another folder under the main themes folder, rename it and alter the heck out of it. That or find a theme that fits your desired layout.

If I were to help further, I would need to change my site to play with the default theme. Something I am pretty reluctant to do. I hope you understand.

The graphic can be reproduced. I would suggest you muck around on your locahost using a copy of the default theme as a starting point and alter it until you get what you desire.

The browse tpl filename that has been used above simply builds a table with various fields placed in rows, but on my installation doesn't have any specifics as regards padding or the centering/alignment of the various elements. That is all in my theme.css file.

Make certain you have caching turned off and that you constantly clear both the Joomla cache and that of your browaser. If you do not, changes you make will not likely be seen.

Take care, Mike
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: PRO on October 11, 2010, 01:14:18 am
the css file is themes/WHATEVER THEME U ARE USING/theme.css

Also, the div etc. is setup in the browse page you are using

Use firebug to find the style added to it
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=73349.0

Or post your url
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: vmarte on October 11, 2010, 11:16:46 am
hey "Hero" thanks for post
in the attached picture the info about virtuemart settings , firebug "detection" , etc..
i'm using , take a look....

if i "hack" the virtuemart  theme.css file  , the table cells layout with  "fixed 1 product per raw" selected , don't change (also with cache "refreshment")  ,
the table cells layout change if i set different layout option  in the virtuemart admin like: "div no tabel"
but with different layout option it don't work properly ....
for example : if you have a product without price published , the table layout of that product
appear "confused".....  

for case there is a "way" to block the table cells layout also if  "fixed 1 product per raw" it's not selected
as product list layout ?

any help it's wellcome!
thanks in advance
vmarte


the css file is themes/WHATEVER THEME U ARE USING/theme.css

Also, the div etc. is setup in the browse page you are using

Use firebug to find the style added to it
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=73349.0

Or post your url

[attachment cleanup by admin]
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: PRO on October 11, 2010, 13:22:02 pm
vmarte, if you want my help, you have to post a url
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: PRO on October 11, 2010, 15:00:10 pm
I have looked this over. It would be A LOT easier to do this with browse NO tables

You could even use browse no tables. AND THEN change the browse template to use a table
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: vmarte on October 11, 2010, 16:26:45 pm
Thanks so much "Hero"
i try to make it ,
then :
-browse no table as browse page?
sorry but may you indicate the correct docs to modify?

any help it's wellcome
thanks
vmarte

I have looked this over. It would be A LOT easier to do this with browse NO tables

You could even use browse no tables. AND THEN change the browse template to use a table
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: PRO on October 11, 2010, 17:01:31 pm
set it to browse no tables

THEN, in each category. You can choose which browse page to use.

EDIT the browse page template

templates/browse/HERE

You can then modify the html just like you want
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: mwenz on October 11, 2010, 17:03:06 pm
There are two manuals available that can help you determine what files need altered.

http://virtuemart.net/home/manuals

Is a good place to start. That page has links to both the user and developer manuals.

In the developer manual, I would start here:
http://virtuemart.net/documentation/Developer_Manual/Modifying_the_Layout.html

Both manuals are a bit out of date and or sparse. But I think one can manage through the changes you will need with a good reading of them.

Take care, Mike
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: vmarte on October 11, 2010, 18:26:34 pm
thanks so much  "Hero" and "Mwen"
for post
(i post my issues here after  many days of attempts to solve , by myself  :-\  )
And about
the
docs i checked are:
browse_1
template.css
theme.css
productlisttable.tpl.php

In the template.css (css style of the joomla template,virtuemart themes.css ,etc.. )
and as posted before in the picture...
no code for table and cells dimensions and layout found....
only row code about padding ....

But yess : the template.css doc change the layout of product list using :width , padding, height , <br>, border , etc...

But: only with option like: "div no table" , etc.... , it don't work with :"fixed 1 product per row".

But as just said : if a product don't have the price published ,
 the layout
(product name,image,product short description,etc..) appear as a "drunk dog " (never seen a drunk dog?....  ;) )
then the only way for get a stable layout in the list of products is set the virtuemart with: "fixed 1 product per row" ..
(all products manufacturer and category list have to appear under a table layout)

sorry for my limits but after days and days of searching , "try & error" , etc.. ,
the :"fixed 1 product per row"  , it's the only one decent solution i found.
(i know that are fiew code rows for get that i'm looking for but where i have to place ? )

  
About manuals i checked and rechecked several times .....
found helps for other issues but nothing about :
where and how change the "dam......d"  product list table code....

nobody have found wich doc include the table code used by virtuemart for the "fixed 1 product per row" option?

any help it's wellcome
thanks in advance
vmarte
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: PRO on October 11, 2010, 19:10:56 pm
vmarte

You have to create the html for your layout. Or modify whats already there

Open browse1 and delete everything except this
<?php if( !defined( '_VALID_MOS' ) && !defined( '_JEXEC' ) ) die( 'Direct Access to '.basename(__FILE__).' is not allowed.' );
mm_showMyFileName(__FILE__);
 ?>


THEN. Make a table

and add these to the cells
THIS calls the name, and links it to the product page

<a title="<?php echo $product_name ?>" href="<?php echo $product_flypage ?>">
            <?php echo $product_name ?></a>

THIS is the price
<?php echo $product_price ?>
 
THIS is the thumbnnail
<?php echo $product_thumb_image ?>


and so on

you can find all the tags here
http://virtuemart.net/documentation/Developer_Manual/Modifying_the_Layout.html#Templates
Title: Re: browse_listtable.tpl.php - table cells - Untouchables?
Post by: PRO on October 11, 2010, 19:12:13 pm
You can add a class to each cell, and then finish the rest with css