VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 1.1.x [ Old version - no longer supported ] => Questions VM 1.1 ( the only active board for the old version) => Topic started by: aarontb on January 28, 2010, 20:43:54 pm

Title: Interesting problem...won't add item to cart
Post by: aarontb on January 28, 2010, 20:43:54 pm
I've got an interesting problem.  I've got 3 products, each with the same custom attributes, however, whenever you fill out the forms and click "Add to Cart" an error message pops up and says "*Info: To add this product into your cart you have to select a product variant on the details page.*"

However, it doesn't add it to the cart.  Not sure what that really means, I've got everything setup on the back end...please let me know ASAP.

My site is http://www.mslawmart.com

Aaron
Title: Re: Interesting problem...won't add item to cart
Post by: Daniel.uww on February 01, 2010, 02:37:44 am
I'm having the same problem.....
Title: Re: Interesting problem...won't add item to cart
Post by: jonnieitis on February 01, 2010, 20:22:24 pm
hi lads i had this problem it was my jmoola  i had set the site to these
Search Engine Friendly URLs        No   Yes
Use Apache mod_rewrite    No Yes
Add suffix to URLs    No Yes

and set them to yes.

go to ur site then globle config set them to no i had mine set to yes
also in your cart set those to use a popout window in configuration under layout.

hope this helps hope you get to read it before them forum police trash my post.
Title: Re: Interesting problem...won't add item to cart
Post by: meanmom on February 19, 2010, 01:51:05 am
I'm having the same problem.  The SEO settings for my site were already set to NO. 

I think it may have something to do with selecting the category but I'm not sure.  I added one product with attributes that works fine.  But my most recent product addition is having this same problem.  Looks like it has been a problem for a couple years.   ???
Title: Re: Interesting problem...won't add item to cart
Post by: Forrest on February 23, 2010, 02:01:01 am
Search the forums on this topic. There are many threads about this, and a few reasons why you may be having this error.

1. Did you upgrade to VM1.1.4 from an earlier version, or is this a fresh install?
2. Are you using SEF?
3. Are you using AJAX?

Try real hard to use existing posts regarding your issues before creating a new one.
Title: Re: Interesting problem...won't add item to cart
Post by: meanmom on February 23, 2010, 03:30:37 am
Many of the existing posts I found on this issue are over a year old.  I've played around with this problem quite a bit and there seems to be a problem with attributes and properties that have more than one word.  If you keep the attribute and property to single words like color, green, red, blue, no problem.  However, if you have multiple words like Gift Set or Hex Bamboo, the system breaks down. 
Title: Re: Interesting problem...won't add item to cart
Post by: Forrest on February 23, 2010, 03:45:00 am
Were here is a known bug post, link to bug tracker, and fix regarding this:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=65285.0

Otherwise, perhaps you have found another bug, or broke something in the process of playing with it.
Title: Re: Interesting problem...won't add item to cart
Post by: meanmom on February 23, 2010, 20:26:47 pm
Digging around in the forum posts, other members mention the same symptoms with the attribute/property problem.  I have a product that works fine with the simple attribute/property system on the Product Status page.  But when I tried another product with a multi-word attribute, it could not be added to the cart.  Every time the Add2Cart button is clicked, the info window appears with

Info: To add this product into your cart you have to select a product variant on the details page.
Title: Re: Interesting problem...won't add item to cart
Post by: Forrest on February 23, 2010, 20:35:04 pm
Well, sounds like another bug. Put dashes or underscores instead of spaces, or find the problematic code, fix, and share! :)
Title: Re: Interesting problem...won't add item to cart
Post by: meanmom on February 23, 2010, 20:58:48 pm
For now, I'm using the process outlined by jjk but it has some drawbacks.  There was a problem with sorting the attributes with this method, I found the problem and posted information to fix it. 

I'm surprised that no one else has found a fix for this problem.  The problem was identified in the previous version of the system.  I'm have very little training with joomla and am learning as I go along.  If the problem becomes more annoying, I may try banging my head against the brick wall a few more times to find a solution.  We'll see.....

Thanks for chatting with me about this! For us stumblers and head bangers, it's nice to know some of the smart folks are reading our posts.