VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 1.1.x [ Old version - no longer supported ] => Shipping VM 1.1 => FedEx VM 1 => Topic started by: acsandy on December 10, 2008, 21:29:21 PM

Title: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: acsandy on December 10, 2008, 21:29:21 PM
I customer of mine was wondering why ground shipping would not appear as a shipping option even though it was enabled.

After looking into it I found this bit of code in /administrator/components/com_virtuemart/classes/shipping/fedex.php starting at line 191:
// If this is a residential delivery, then remove the business option; otherwise, remove the home delivery option.
if($residential_delivery_flag == 'Y') {
$remove = array("92");
$selected_services = array_diff( $selected_services, array("92") );
} else{
$remove = array("90");
$selected_services = array_diff( $selected_services, array("90") );
}


"92" is ground. I looked on Fedex's website (http://fedex.com/us/services/us/ground.html) and couldn't find any info about an inability to be able to deliver to residences.  Does anyone know why it's coded this way?
Title: Residential vs. Business address
Post by: jmatz on January 05, 2009, 19:23:53 PM
One thing I'm not clear on: Does the FedEx shipping module discern whether the address is business or home?  I want to make sure that any home delivery surcharge is accounted for, but don't see how this is done for each shipment - there's nothing to trigger this in the request for rate that is sent out to the FedEx server, is there?

Also, if FedEx does not deliver to a P.O. Box, then what flags this if a customer enters a P.O. Box for their shipping address?

The module is working great for me... just not sure if these questions have been addressed / answered.  Couldn't find anything in this thread.

Thanks!
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: Nick Miletich on January 29, 2009, 05:42:04 AM
FedEx Ground does ship to residences.  So I'm puzzled too.
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: Nick Miletich on January 29, 2009, 06:06:18 AM
I put in a known business address and FedEx Ground still didn't show up.

If I had to guess I think that FedEx has disabled the "FedEx Ground" shipping product with their legacy API.  It's only a matter of time before all the shipping products with be phased out.  When talking to FedEx tech support he said they use SOAP now.

I say that because I can get 5 of the shipping products but not the only one I care about "FedEx Ground".

(http://www.discbrakeswap.com/images/stories/fedex-ship.gif)
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: foragesf on January 31, 2009, 04:18:53 AM
Im having the same problem. I downloaded fedexdc.php (which is the closest file I have to fedex.php, and couldnt find that line of code.
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: Nick Miletich on January 31, 2009, 05:07:25 AM
If it's not here: /administrator/components/com_virtuemart/classes/shipping/fedex.php

Then you might want to download the newest version of Virtuemart. Currently, it's version 1.1.3.  I'm using 1.1.2.
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: nuwud on February 20, 2009, 09:24:27 AM
Won't that take FedEx Home shipping off completely, then? But if FedEx does Ground shipping to residences too, I guess it doesn't matter.
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: Nick Miletich on February 21, 2009, 04:39:50 AM
Yeah, they're virtually the same.  FedEx Home costs more and has a weight limit- 70lb.  They charge your account the difference after it has been shipped to a residential address plus a .35 cent premium.
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: QubeSys Technologies on April 28, 2009, 06:35:46 AM
Is this an ultimate fix for Fedex ?
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: revive on April 29, 2009, 18:02:14 PM
Ultimate.. uh, until this summer when they phase out the API.. :P
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: smkrishna on July 06, 2009, 00:54:09 AM
Does anybody know API has been discontinued from FedEx.
I tried the 'Y' to 'N' code change and still I dont see FedEx ground shipping for me!!???? If we have to use FedEx Web Services, does anybody have experience in it?
Can they guide me?
Thanks for help in advance.
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: lowmips on July 09, 2009, 18:29:46 PM
Quote from: smkrishna on July 06, 2009, 00:54:09 AM
Does anybody know API has been discontinued from FedEx.
(snip) If we have to use FedEx Web Services, does anybody have experience in it?
Can they guide me?
Thanks for help in advance.

There is interest in developing a new module using Web Services:
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=52741.0
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: hall0ween138 on December 18, 2010, 23:56:22 PM
I also made the change from 'Y' to 'N' on this line, refreshed the page and I still don't see fedex ground. Any ideas? I'm still looking around and if I find anything I'll post it.

Thanks!
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: sheela on May 23, 2011, 08:03:59 AM
Hi All,

I have enabled "FedEx Smartpost" option in admin side. But it doesn't shown up in checkout page.

Anyonle help me?

Thanks!
Title: Re: No ground shipping to residences
Post by: sza on September 20, 2011, 20:09:41 PM
This 'Y'/'N' fix worked for me. Any idea what the repercussions will be?