VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 1.1.x [ Old version - no longer supported ] => Security (https) / Performance / SEO/ SEF issues VM 1.1 => Topic started by: markchicobaby on July 31, 2008, 09:34:34 am

Title: Performance: Does VM work with Joomla caching?
Post by: markchicobaby on July 31, 2008, 09:34:34 am
I've turned on standard Global Config caching, but it immediately breaks my site.  (The Product-Sort drop-down widget gets listed 5 times instead of once).  No users logged in.

Is VirtueMark known to work with standard Joomla caching?

If not, what is the best caching solution to use?

I'm running Joomla 1.5.5, VM 1.1.1, JA Mesolite template.

New clean install, sh404SEF is also installed, but it is set to skip Virtue Mart while I'm debugging caching.

Thank you
Mark
Title: Re: Performance: Does VM work with Joomla caching?
Post by: allanchan on July 31, 2008, 12:07:31 pm
No... It would never work with Joomla Caching System.... Your Catalog will fail after switching on Cache System
Title: Re: Performance: Does VM work with Joomla caching?
Post by: markchicobaby on July 31, 2008, 13:11:41 pm
But if the catalogue is static, a link will always bring up the same product.... so caching should work for just a basic catalogue page.

I am pretty sure I've read that others are using caching with VM.  Correct me if I'm wrong or I've misunderstood the principle.

Is there "official" word in the docs somewhere?  I can't find it.

Thanks!
M

Title: Re: Performance: Does VM work with Joomla caching?
Post by: MrBoza on August 11, 2008, 07:31:15 am
Works with virtue mart 1.1.2 much better!!!
Title: Re: Performance: Does VM work with Joomla caching?
Post by: markchicobaby on August 11, 2008, 11:34:57 am
Hi MrBoza, are you aware of any specific links to Virtue Mart documentation that discusses caching?

Thank you
M