VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 1.1.x [ Old version - no longer supported ] => Security (https) / Performance / SEO/ SEF issues VM 1.1 => Topic started by: wawo99 on April 28, 2008, 11:16:12 am

Title: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: wawo99 on April 28, 2008, 11:16:12 am
I got a terrible performance particularly with the VM Administration. (i.e. 30 Seconds to open the Shop Configuation panel). Also the Frontend shows weak response times even with 1 products only.

Greetings
WaWo   
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: jenkinhill on April 28, 2008, 23:57:03 pm
Is your server overloaded?
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: wawo99 on May 02, 2008, 07:57:53 am
Not at all. I'm running Joomla / Virtuemart on a local
Webserver with
  + Apache 2.2.8
  + MySQL 5.0.51a
  + PHP 5.2.5
and it was quite fast before installing Vituemart. 
Did no one eles encounter those performance problems ?

Greetings
WaWo
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: korb on May 02, 2008, 15:33:30 pm
Hi,
I feel the same about this.
Runing a Joomla 1.5.3 and VM 1.1.0 Stable an localhost with
###### ApacheFriends XAMPP (basic package) version 1.6.6a ######

Apache 2.2.8
MySQL 5.0.51a
PHP 5.2.5 + PHP 4.4.8 + PEAR
PHP-Switch win32 1.0 (please use the "php-switch.bat")
XAMPP Control Version 2.5 from www.nat32.com   
XAMPP Security 1.0   
SQLite 2.8.15
OpenSSL 0.9.8g
phpMyAdmin 2.11.4
ADOdb 4.96
Mercury Mail Transport System v4.52
FileZilla FTP Server 0.9.25
Webalizer 2.01-10
Zend Optimizer 3.3.0a
eAccelerator 0.9.5.2 for PHP 5.2.5  (comment out in the php.ini)

The Back-end of the VirtueMart "moves" very slow!!
What can I do?
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: peternagel on May 10, 2008, 18:42:05 pm
I have to agree with the slow performance running VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3. Both front-and backends. My specs:

PHP 5.2.2
My Sql 5
WIN IIS Server

I have made some attempts to change settings, removing here and there and sifting things around, but the performance remains slow.

Any ideas?
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: korb on May 11, 2008, 18:30:24 pm
I have tested Joomla 1,53 eCommerceBundle and runs better.

Anyone else felt the same?
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: jenkinhill on May 12, 2008, 00:22:26 am
I have a situation where Joomla 1.5.3 is running faster than 1.5.2 on the same server. Neither of these have VirtueMart installed. I am upgrading all my J1.5 sites to 1.5.3 tomorrow.
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: Gastonio on June 05, 2008, 09:15:31 am
Hi,
I feel the same about this.
Runing a Joomla 1.5.3 and VM 1.1.0 Stable an localhost with
WAMP latest ver. Trying to figure out , is there a tune for the db or apache to speed thigs up.

Regards
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: jjk on June 11, 2008, 19:16:27 pm
I did watch the task manager on my local system for some time (working with Win 2000, XAMPP) and noticed that most delays and CPU usage while working in the VirtueMart 1.1 backend seem to be caused by the Firefox browser (Version 2.0.014).

I gained a significant speed improvement after I adjusted the following in Firefox:

Enter 'about:config' in the url address bar (without the quotes)
Type pipe... in the filter bar in order to find pipelining entries
Set 'network.http.pipelining' to 'true' by double-clicking it
Set 'network.http.pipelining.maxrequests' to a higher value (mine was set to 4, initially increased it to 12)

That it!

Joerg
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: lochraven on June 19, 2008, 17:58:43 pm
VM 1.1.0
Joomla 1.5.2

I to am experiencing very poor performance in the backend administration and the frontend of the website.  Takes 60 seconds or more for the home page to load.

Is there any solution or any thing that can be tweeked to speed it up?

Eric
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: korb on June 19, 2008, 19:12:52 pm
live site or localhost instalation?
You use jom comment? SEF? any component that has it's own cache system?
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: lochraven on June 19, 2008, 20:30:59 pm
It's a live site and I have SEF turned in Joomla.

Will that cause the slowness?
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: lochraven on June 19, 2008, 21:57:22 pm
Update: 
My service provide has found some disk I/O issues on the server and is working
on fixing the problem.

I'll post again once the disk i/o has been resolved server to see if that is what the problem was.

Thanks
Eric
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: MrBoza on June 20, 2008, 12:48:33 pm
I have tested Joomla 1,53 eCommerceBundle and runs normal on a shared server in US ...and I'm in Japan .... Have a try if helps. www.preorder-figure.com
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: lochraven on June 20, 2008, 16:03:40 pm
Everything is working great now that the disk i/o issue has been resolved on the server.  I've turned SEF back on and it is still performing well.

Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: crony on July 05, 2008, 00:53:43 am
Hello,

I've changed my config of FF as explained, but still have VM quite slow...
Using Mo'vamp local server (PHP 5.2.3)

I had lots of crash of Firefox during the setup of this test site, not only with VM, but with Joomla! 1.5.3 too...
Now it seems ok, no more crash, but slow...

 ???
Title: Re: Bad Performance with VM 1.1.0 stable + Joomla 1.5.3
Post by: crony on July 05, 2008, 01:21:32 am
Legacy mode disabled, and editing VM with the simplified board is much better...