VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 1.1.x [ Old version - no longer supported ] => Products, Prices, Tax and Categories VM 1.1 => Topic started by: scottietrek on April 25, 2008, 13:39:08 pm

Title: category_browsepage Field
Post by: scottietrek on April 25, 2008, 13:39:08 pm
Ok this is probally crazy question. What i am trying to figure out is what is suppose to be in the category_browsepage field in the database. this is in the vm_category table. any help would be much app...

thank you in advance
Scott
Title: Re: category_browsepage Field
Post by: Mike on April 26, 2008, 04:47:50 am
Hi,

This field stores the name of the template file you would like to show for that category, so every can be different if you would like.

I just use browse_6 but this is a special one I have created to keep with my design.
If you select the category in the backend administrator you can see which files you have and choose one, if however you prefer to edit the database directly the files you can choose are:
browse_1
browse_2
browse_3
browse_4
browse_5
browse_lite_pdf

In Virtuemart 1.1.0 These are saved in: components/com_virtuemart/themes/default/templates/browse
If you fancy having a play and making your own page design.

Hope this helps.

Mike
Title: Re: category_browsepage Field
Post by: trader4300 on May 02, 2008, 00:57:10 am
Along this same line, I am having a problem in that my product images interfere with the the headings for that product. This used to work correctly but something got messed up. I looked at the browse_1.php file and it looks alright. In the configuration file, I changed the category template to other templates (browse_5) but I dont see any changes take effect. Whats going on? Look at www.goodolddayscountryshop.com/shop and select one of my products to see what is happening.
I really need some help getting my site up and running and dont know where else to turn. Hopefully there is some knowlegeable people lurking here that can help.
Thanks!
Title: SOLVED - Re: category_browsepage Field
Post by: trader4300 on May 02, 2008, 22:40:29 pm
By reading these posts for hours, I finally got some sort of an idea as to what to do. Don't know why every browse page seems to be messed up with the images and text overlapping, but I would asume it has something to do with the default sixe of the images. To fix this, I set my config file to use browse_1. I then changed all my product categories to use the browse_1 file. Then I modified the browse_1.php file slightly by altering the percentage of the cell where the messed up text belongs in. See below:
<div style="float:left;width:35%;">  By changing it from 30 to 35%, moved the heading out from behind the image to just next to it.
Hopefully this will save some of you hours and hours of learning about this stuff.
John