VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart Dev/Coding Central: VM1 (old version) => Virtuemart 1.1 Development (Archiv) => Quality & Testing VirtueMart 1.1.x => Topic started by: Mike C on March 05, 2008, 07:21:07 am

Title: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: Mike C on March 05, 2008, 07:21:07 am
I just tried to install the latest nightly build and it failed.. The messages are:

Unrecoverable error "PCLZIP_ERR_BAD_FORMAT (-10)"
and
Installation file not found

I was supposed to extract the com_virtuemart_1.1.0.zip from the main zip file and install it as a component, correct?

Well anyways, that's what happens.
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: Mike C on March 05, 2008, 22:06:01 pm
anyone have this problem?
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: jenkinhill on March 05, 2008, 22:52:57 pm
VM 1297 installed OK for me on J1.0.15 and J1.5.1

Yes, the component com_virtuemart_1.1.0.zip is installed from the component directory of VirtueMart_1.1.0_COMPLETE_PACKAGE.zip
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: Mike C on March 05, 2008, 22:54:45 pm
hmm weird.. well no good for me so I can't install it to help with testing anything.. Hopefully the stable version will install...
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: aravot on March 05, 2008, 23:50:14 pm
The error has nothing to do with VM, it is a server issue, if you can't install the RC probably you won't be able to install the stable.

Did a Search found the following

"Server using PCLZip as opposed to GZip and it can't handle the zip files"

Comment out the following variable in php.ini
;mbstring.func_overload = 0
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: Mike C on March 05, 2008, 23:52:44 pm
I have never had a problem installing a Joomla component before (including Virtuemart 1.0.x)  What is different about 1.1 that is causing this to suddenly happen to me? If it's going to happen to me, it will happen to others I'm sure. Perhaps VM needs to go back to the "old way" whatever that was...
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: aravot on March 05, 2008, 23:56:38 pm
Maybe your host changed something. anyway I'll keep this in mind.
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: Mike C on March 06, 2008, 00:00:54 am
I've installed other components today without issue, so I don't think anything changed on my host's end. I'm on PHP 5.2.5
I just sent an email to my host..
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: aravot on March 06, 2008, 00:13:43 am
From where did you download VirtueMart?
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: Mike C on March 06, 2008, 00:33:22 am
I downloaded it from the dev website:
http://dev.virtuemart.net/cb/proj/doc.do?doc_id=1328
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: aravot on March 06, 2008, 00:47:02 am
It shouldn't make a difference but can you try this one http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=31381.0
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: Mike C on March 06, 2008, 01:01:54 am
Yeah, it didn't make a difference, same
Code: [Select]
Unrecoverable error "PCLZIP_ERR_BAD_FORMAT (-10)"
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: Mike C on March 07, 2008, 23:09:54 pm
I just attempted to install the new nightly build and had the same error happened again, no word yet from my host who is taking an usually long time to reply about this issue.....
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: aravot on March 11, 2008, 22:10:48 pm
Server info please
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: Mike C on March 11, 2008, 23:08:56 pm
My host finally replied with this:

Quote
Nothing has changed on the server recently. The variable that you mentioned is already commented out, and our server is using the standard GNU gzip that comes with the Linux distribution that we use:

[root@host101 ~]# gzip -V
gzip 1.3.5
(2002-09-30)
Copyright 2002 Free Software Foundation
Copyright 1992-1993 Jean-loup Gailly
This program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
You may redistribute copies of this program
under the terms of the GNU General Public License.
For more information about these matters, see the file named COPYING.
Compilation options:
DIRENT UTIME STDC_HEADERS HAVE_UNISTD_H HAVE_MEMORY_H HAVE_STRING_H HAVE_LSTAT
Written by Jean-loup Gailly.

The only way I can get VM to install is if I unzip the download, and then rezip it with winrar. So there's definitely something funky with the component zip file. (I didn't have trouble with the mod_virtuemart zip file)
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: aravot on March 11, 2008, 23:51:54 pm
I would still say it is a server issue, I have installed successfully on HostPC, Dreamhost, Site5, MT, Yahoo hosting and localhost using WAMP.
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: Mike C on March 12, 2008, 01:14:44 am
Well, what is different about the zip file I download from you, as opposed to unzipping it, and then rezipping it with winRAR? It installs without any issue when I do that. So there has to be something different about that zip file. It's the only time it has ever happened with any extension I've installed. And again, in the same package, the module installs fine.
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: aravot on March 12, 2008, 06:54:59 am
I too use WinRAR to create VM archive, I have no clue why is not working for you as I mentioned works for me fine on many hosts.
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: roverradio on March 12, 2008, 19:20:09 pm
I'm getting same error on both RC1 and nightly build.

Like the other user I unzipped it and re-zipped it with winrar, and was then able to install without a problem.

Definitely something funky with the zip method.
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: Mike C on March 23, 2008, 00:24:25 am
just tried to install the latest nightly build with the same error. I hope this goes away before the stable is released...
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: danipaez on April 08, 2008, 14:24:49 pm
yeah, it worked with that trick
Title: Re: does not install for J! 1.0.15
Post by: DregNET on April 27, 2008, 21:00:33 pm
Hi i had the same problem

I got the same error msg when i tryed to install the new virtuemart compoonent.
so i re:Ziped it.
Now it worked greate!!

Btw Good work with the new design on Virtuemart